We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All we needed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Road Lodge Port Elizabeth

Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Road Lodge Port Elizabeth to your Saves list
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boardwalk Casino & Entertainment World, Marine Drive | P.O. Box 13219, Humewood, Port Elizabeth 6013, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“All we needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

I had to visit PE for a product launch. All I needed was place to stay over for the night. Road Lodge filled this requirement and more. Conveniently situated to where I needed to be. Close to the Boardwalk & Casino. Plenty of restaurants to choose from close by.

The reception staff were friendly and efficient. The room was neat, tidy and clean.

If I have to overnight again somewhere, I'd look up the Road Lodge again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    8
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
3
6
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

Despite some negative reviews and a one star rating, this hotel was everything we needed during our World Cup visit to Port Elizabeth. We spent several nights there and were impressed with the friendly staff, cleanliness of the rooms and overall presentation of the building. The rooms are small but get the job done. And the costs are excellent considering the location. The boardwalk shops, casino and restaurants are a quick walk from the hotel as are good beaches and lovely views. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

The main reason why I stayed over at the Road Lodge at the Boardwalk in PE was location. The hotel is situated on the beach road, closeby to the boardwalk entertainment centre and a couple of good bars and restaurants.

Although the product of the hotel is not mind blowing, the rooms are clean, the quality of the bed is acceptable and generally "fit for purpose". If you demand high standards and great comfort you should go elsewhere. If you expect a comfortable place at a good location for an affordable price, I would recommend the hotel

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2008

We arrived from Canada on the flight that arrives in Capetown at almost midnight. This is a small, but friendly hotel and very close to the airport which is a huge benefit at that time of night. It was ideal for an overnight stay. The staff was exceptionally helpful and friendly. The rooms basic but clean.

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2006

I am based in East London and I regulary travel to Port Elizabeth on business. The Road Loadge is always my first choice for accommodation. I see that now there have been checking in changes where one has to fill forms something we didn't do before and this extends the checking in time. However, this does not bother me as other hotel establishments have been doing it all the time. It would be interesting to know the reason for this change.

The subject of my review was prompted by the notice posted in the bathroom advising guests to save water. In my opninion this ideal cannot be achieved until the hot water circulation problem is sorted out. This is a long standing problem where one has to throw away tens of litres of cold water whilst waiting for hot water from the shower. My experience this morning was the worst as I waited longer than before. I was in room 131.

Please sort out this problem and we gladly contribute to the noble course.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Road Lodge Port Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Road Lodge Port Elizabeth

Address: Boardwalk Casino & Entertainment World, Marine Drive | P.O. Box 13219, Humewood, Port Elizabeth 6013, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Road Lodge Port Elizabeth 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth is situated on Marine Drive in the Boardwalk Casino and Resort complex, directly opposite the famed Humewood International Beach of the Eastern Cape. Situated 8 minutes from the CBD and 5 minutes from Port Elizabeth Airport. This is the best value in the City Lodge Group of hotels. The same rate is charged whether there is one, two or even three people sharing the comfortably furnished and tastefully decorated rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and South African Hotels so you can book your Road Lodge Port Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Road Hotel Port Elizabeth
Road Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Road Lodge Port Elizabeth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.