We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location. Nice Hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The King Edward Hotel

The King Edward Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Elizabeth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The King Edward Hotel
Save
You added The King Edward Hotel to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Belmont Terrace, Port Elizabeth 6000, South Africa (Formerly Protea Edward & Conference Centre Port Elizabeth)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 32 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Monterrey, Mexico
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great Location. Nice Hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Service is very good. The garage was half block away. The location is good, but stay alert after dark if walking around. Clean. Not cheap but good value.

Room Tip: Laundry right acroos the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
2
6
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

What a pity that this hotel is in such a poor area. This is not a safe area and I would really not recommend that anyone stay here. Lovely old hotel but no mini bars or open restaurants on the property and absolutely no way that you can wodner outside for a srink or meal !

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

We are a gay professional couple who live in Sydney, but I grew up in Port Elizabeth & this hotel had literally crumbled in the last decade from it's 1903 glory. To be honest, if I had read the Tripadvisor comments we would not have come here, but after family informed us of the renovation we decided to give it a whirl(rather than sleep on my nephew's bunk beds). The area is one of the oldest parts of town, looking over the Donkin memorial(one of the 1st governors of the Cape built it as an epitaph to his wife Elizabeth, after whom the city is named, wonderful what true love & a bit of power can get you) & the sea. This part of downtown is now a bit rundown, but as the title of the area suggests it is very central. There is a locked car park & we felt safe with doormen/security 24/7. I mention this as visitors to South Africa are concerned about safety & in my opinion it would be unwise not to be-everywhere one travels really-but particularly in South Africa where the new visitor might find the growing trend of electric fences around private properties slightly disconcerting.
The hotel itself is a lovely, updated, clean version of a colonial hotel & would fit in on the coastlines of any African country. We had a suite with a great shower & separate sitting room area, with flat screen TV. Big bay windows helped us take in the view.
The service was second to none-we travel frequently-with the staff friendly & accommodating, which is how I remember Port Elizabeth people to be.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

We've just got back from our honeymoon in south africa which was amazing, apart from the one awful night we spent in this hotel. We picked this hotel thinking it was similar to a UK travel lodge / travel inn as they are a known chain across south africa, we later learned that the Protea name is fanchised. It was dirty, old and tattered, had leaking windows, dirty carpets, was cold and should have been condemed years ago. We presume that in the 1920's this was an amazing hotel, its just a same they haven't done anything to it since! The reception has been recently renovated which did mask the horrific experience when we first walked in.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2009

Port Elisabeth - howerever the Edward hotel is an historical landmark and from architectural point of view it is an amazing building, the state of the rooms, halways and corridors is verry poor, with stains on carpets, mortar falling apart from walls and ceilings, poor lights, etc... rooms are very simple equipped and with old furniture
has to be completely refurbished. I would not recommend it and would not stay in again

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2006

This Hotel receives a strong 3/5 rating from me for its charm and its value.

True, the hotel is in a run-down part of town and would need a makeover, but its original, charming and colonial appearance as well as its staff made up for it.

Our room was rather large, and its overall impression was surprisingly good. We chose this hotel for one reason: After a 12 hour flight we did not want to spend too much money on accommodation, and the Hotel Edward was the cheapest hotel in our travel agent's catalogue in PE. As a whole, our stay was pleasant and I would recommend this hotel for one night, if you do not plan to stroll around it at night, but are looking for a good value hotel with a lot of character.

  • Liked — character, value
  • Disliked — surrounding
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Ives UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2005

The hotel is very old but has a character all to itself. When it was built it was probably in a prosperous area and the place to stay. Now it is surrounded by Nigerian Bars with prostitutes and drug dealers selling there wares. Once we returned to the hotel after a day out we were marooned in the hotel, not daring to go out. Would not advise staying here unless you enjoy watching the seedier side of life.

Stayed January 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The King Edward Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King Edward Hotel

Address: Belmont Terrace, Port Elizabeth 6000, South Africa (Formerly Protea Edward & Conference Centre Port Elizabeth)
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 32 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The King Edward Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The golden era with its elegance is captured into the hotel that dates back to 1903. The King Edward Hotel rooms are intimately decorated with the most modern and sophisticated design. We offer a flexible, tailor-made approach to organising conferences and banquets. We are the closest hotel to Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium hosting the FIFA world cup 2010. We are only 10 minutes from the airport with a free shuttle service. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The King Edward Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.