We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty hotel - worst place we stopped at in South Africa.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Brookes Hill Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Brookes Hill Suites to your Saves list
Brookes Hill Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lower Brookes Hill Drive | Humewood, Port Elizabeth 6013, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Delamere Park, Cheshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Dirty hotel - worst place we stopped at in South Africa.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place really suffered in comparison with all the wonderful other places we stayed at during our holiday in South Africa [and that included another Legacy hotel in Cape Town which was very good].
After checking in our first sight was of a dirty room-service plate left on the floor in a corridor - that was early Friday afternoon. It was still in the same place when we checked out the following morning. Similarly, in another corridor leading to Reception, two more plates, with a similar life-cycle during our stay - there on Friday afternoon, and still there Saturday morning. The Reception area itself was graced with the presence of a water dish and feed bowl, presumably for any passing dog, cat or rat.
Our room was in desperate need of refurbishment with cracked floor and wall tiles, gaps between walls and ceilings that needed copious amounts of filler, a bathroom sink that was crazed with black marks, curtains that were striped with dirt or mould where they had brushed against the equally unclean windows, mould around the bathroom window, damp and dirt in the lower corners of the walls, all the woodwork in need of a sand down and paint job, ceiling light fitting hanging loose, a rusty and dirty bin in the bathroom, a fuse cabinet that wouldn't close and was collecting large quantities of dust, cupboard hinges that were no longer connected to the doors, and to cap it all, a note saying to use the safe in the room to store valuables - except it looked as if someone had stolen the safe - all we had was a hole in the back of the wardrobe where it had been.
The staff were friendly enough, especially the lady chef at breakfast who did a great single-handed job cooking, serving, and collecting [although someone should tell her to handle the cheese slices with tongs, not her fingers]. It seemed strange though, to see four or five people in Reception doing very little [ although one was standing on the counter, hanging Christmas decorations up and banging tacks in with the Reception Desk sign - had no-one a hammer?] and a further four or five just chatting at the security gate to the car park. Why not have one or two of these folk walk the corridors picking up plates, or hand them a paint brush, or even a mop? Thank goodness we were only there one night, in transit to the airport.
This hotel, and especially our room, was a disaster. Legacy Hotel Group - wake up! Your 3 star hotels should be just as clean as your 4 star establishments - there is no excuse for dirt - and just in case someone from the hotel or the group wants to try and counter any of this, let me point out that I have photographs of all of the above points.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSuites, Operations Manager at Brookes Hill Suites, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guests

May we take this opportunity to thank you for your valued feedback on your recent stay at Brookes Hill Suites. Feedback from our guests is a means of assessing if we have met our guests expectations and judging from your response we certainly failed.

Your experience has highlighted the difficulties in managing a mixed use facility, where private rental pools are operated within a hotel complex and our management team has been tasked to see what other measures we could implement to keep the standards the same for the whole property.

Could we request that you contact us on the following email address so that we can be in touch with you and arrange either a full refund or a credit on your stay - bhill@legacyhotels.co.za


Kind regards
Gert Brumme
Group Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    12
    16
    9
    9
See reviews for
14
21
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fish hoek
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Warm and friendly staff. The suits are clean and comfortable.
The suits are have all the comforts of home (stove, microwave, kettle, toaster)

Each suit sleeps 4 comfortable but can sleep 6.

The pool and gardens are well kept.

The Brooks Hill is close to the airport and the Boardwalk and in walking distance from a number of resturants.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

Stayed here before going on to a Safari. This hotel had been booked by our travel agent and we were so disappointed in the cleanliness of this Hotel. Although handy for Port Elizabeth Airport and next to a beautiful golden beach it was extremely shabby. The breakfast was really limited and not very appetising only could offer margarine, no butter! The carpet in the restaurant was really dirty. The staff at check in and out were helpful and friendly as were all the staff.
Don't book.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Although the unit was kept clean, the furnishing was stained as well as the carpet. The beds were so bad that we woke up with back ache in the mornings. This was both bedrooms. My bed in the second bedroom was just as bad as the one in the main bedroom. The whole place was generally run down. Even the paint on the front door was peeling. We most certainly will not be back

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Brooks hills is a beautiful place for sea breeze lovers. You can see the sunset down from your room and makes your mind so relax. I was there for one week and I really enjoyed my stay over there. The staff is really helpful and chef made a special fish dish for me since I was really tired with meats :). Foods are really delicious and they had wide varieties including Asian meals (Not exactly Asian but something similar :) )

Room is really clean and tidy. Staff is really friendly except the receptionist. Fellow got a big attitude issue and I tried by best to ignore him since I do not want to screw my stay. The location gives you access to places like rainbow aquarium, broadwalk, Nightclubs, KFC, Mac, etc..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germiston, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

This is a well positioned hotel - close to the airport and the beach. Breakfast was rather poor and uninspiring. Many restaurants are close by and nice to eat.
The internet didn't work very well. Has a nice holiday feeling. Certainly okay for a night or so.

Room Tip: The front rooms that face the sea are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Excellent quality and well run 3 star hotel overlooking Port Elizabeth's beautiful beaches. lovely gardens surround the swimming pool. Well run restaurant offers good value and service. Good security and ample parking.. Expect to see dolphins and from September to December, whales.
Excellent scuba and sailing in amazing bay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with beachfront view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brookes Hill Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookes Hill Suites

Address: Lower Brookes Hill Drive | Humewood, Port Elizabeth 6013, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Brookes Hill Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Brookes Hill Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookes Hill Hotel Port Elizabeth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brookes Hill Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.