We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome showers!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Court Kings Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Garden Court Kings Beach to your Saves list
Garden Court Kings Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   La Roche Drive | Humewood, Port Elizabeth 6013, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Geochang-gun, South Korea
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Awesome showers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012 via mobile

I got a smoking room - and rather unusually, the room wasnt overly stuffy. The facilities were standard. Comfortable beds, clean rooms and a good selection of TV channels. I was very impressed with the shower unit - big, clean with two lovely shower heads. The bathroom in general was quite nice. The breakfast was also very good - lots of vegetarian selection.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    75
    33
    13
    8
See reviews for
37
36
5
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

A run of the mill chain hotel that gets the job done without any flair or differentiation. Rooms are modern looking and clean but not outstanding in any way. There is plenty of evidence that this hotel was upgraded at minimal cost - with old plumbing and exterior untouched.

No deal breakers here, just not an exciting experience. Views are awesome.

Room Tip: Corner rooms often have howling wind noises - the result of old frames etc.. Choose rooms that are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We had a great stay at the hotel and found everything above our expectations. The highlight was dinner at the nearby Mediterranean Restaurant where sushi was half price and the meal superb.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Arrived here after a 18hr flight and the desk people weren't very accommodating. Room was nice but very very basic. Fantastic breakfast very good... Ok for a over nighter

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

This hotel refuses to participate in the upgrading that is happening around the Port Elizabeth area, it doesn't fit the family nor does it respond to the business environment, my gut feeling is that it works better for families than business travellers. They seem to get a lot of government business, which is not necessarily a bad thing, but I get a feeling that this is why they don't rise to the occassion, the reception is tired and the business centre is just basic.

I am not sure if I just didnt fit the market trajectory of the hotel, maybe I am being unfair to the establishment, but my expectations of a 3-star establishment were not met by the food, the ambience, the staff, the room, the dining arrangements with nearby take aways are really bizarre, to say the least!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

This hotel has been a regular of mine for many years and recently it has been looking tired. I think it is due for a revamp. Our room was typical of a garden court. Clean, with a nice shower and TV. The blanket in the room came in handy when my traveling companion came down with a bout of shivers. The carpet on the passage did not smell good, however. The shower drainage was too slow resulting in the water spilling onto the bathroom floor and the plugs on the right side of the room kept cutting power off to the right side of the room including TV and bedside lights. While the power was restored within 5 minutes and an extension plug provided, it was rather concerning that we would be placed in a room with a non-working plug. As usual, the noise from other bathrooms meant no sleep after 6am, which is OK as this is a business hotel rather than a vacation venue. Location is excellent, but the Spur was always full and the McDonalds next door was only open to cars (meaning you have to drive from the hotel, about 50 metres away)

Room Tip: Sea view rooms, if you can get them provide a great view. The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoziJETSETTER
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

We booked two rooms in December 2011. This was our last leg culminating our Garden Route. The hotel was nearby halaal food places and we were pleasantly surprised that the amazing breakfast catered for its muslim gueats. Beauty has the art of making the best ever omelletes of your choice and the staff overall rocked. Enjoyed the ever so welcoming freshly squeezed orange juice. This is the best Garden Court Hotel in South Africa.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden Court Kings Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Kings Beach

Address: La Roche Drive | Humewood, Port Elizabeth 6013, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Kings Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Elizabeth is a city that boasts leisure attractions and an active business centre. The Garden Court King's Beach hotel affords easy access to everything that this city has to offer. Within walking distance of the magnificent King's Beach Promenade, this affordable accommodation offering is the gateway to a world of fun. With 2km of white sand, a surfing spot, the MacArther's Baths and many other attractions, this Garden Court is an ideal leisure destination. Mike's Kitchen is opening at the hotel on 1 October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Garden Court Kings Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court King`s Beach Hotel Port Elizabeth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Court Kings Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.