We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shanna's Portuguese Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Shanna's Portuguese Restaurant
Circular Drive, Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 211 Restaurants in Port Elizabeth
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Favourite food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Shanna prepares the meals herself and we have never been disappointed over the past 10 years of visiting this restaurant.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    9
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“No colour allowed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Upon many great recommendations, my family went to shanna's to celebrate my dad's birthday. The waitress did her best to make us feel at home but the manager walked around greeting only the white guests. He rudely ignored us. Service is important in the restuarant business and this was clearly poor. We ordered the 1kg prawns and it was extremely bland. We have been to a few Portuguese restaurants and this one was nothing close to the standard we expected. I personally would not recommend shanna's to anyone who enjoys good food!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Authentic Portuguese cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Our B&B recommended Shanna's and what a great recommendation that was! It's a bit out of the centre if town in the suburbs and worth the drive. Excellent food from a family run restaurant. The secret homemade peri peri sauce is addictive!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent value and food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Very good value, best chicken and prawns. Got to book early especially at month end. They could upgrade their bathrooms however.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Shanna's Portuguese Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Wonderful food at a reasonable price.The prawns are the best in Port Elizabeth. The owner , George , regularly comes to chat to the diners and get their praise or criticism.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shanna's Portuguese Restaurant also viewed

Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 

Been to Shanna's Portuguese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shanna's Portuguese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.