We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Season's” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Season Eco Eatery

Season Eco Eatery
Plot | Little Chelsea, Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 211 Restaurants in Port Elizabeth
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Season Eco Eatery is situated on a small holding just outside of Port Elizabeth and is a very well kept secret of the locals! Excellent food, friendly staff and exceptionally reasonable prices.
Lossiemouth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Season's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Just found this page. This restaurant ambience is absolutely excellent. Great food and the surroundings are exceptional. Coleen the owner is fantastic with a great personality. we have been there many times and it does not fail every time. Keep up the great work Coleen.. We will be back

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    3
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Outstanding food for a humble place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

At Plot 53 it's easy to miss as it doesn't waste money in expensive advertising, but they excel in their rich, exclusive, tasty and yet, VERY affordable meals.

Different sort of steak, braai, fish, it's all on the menu, delivered with professional skills. We had an outstanding night, with a very friendly waitress and the lovely décor, which is all Eco-Friendly, and looks like a million bucks!

Absolutely well worth the trip .. don't miss out!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Alfred, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“80th Birthday Party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We have eaten many times at Season Eco Eatery and the food and decor has always been outstanding. When planning my mom-in-laws 80th birthday we contacted them and they offered us a special menu, brilliant decor choices and so many more items at no extra cost to ourselves. The food is always great, fresh seasonal produce and excellent home style food. The staff and owner went out of their way to assist us and a great time was had by all. We will definitely return many more times.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Over Rated and Pretentious with poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

A very disappointing visit here recently with good friends.
The menu states 'fish of the day - ask for details' I did, to be told by an obviously very inexperienced waiter, that they had no fish. This was my second visit in a few weeks when there had been no fish available. I asked for the Manager (also the owner?), who said that they were fed up with throwing fish away because no-one ever asked for it! This in a town renowned for it's fresh fish and sushi bars shooting up all over. I have eaten in restaurants all over the world and have never known one that didn't have at least one fish dish on the menu and available. All this, coupled with the very slow and poor service makes it appear that the restaurant is being run for the benefit of the owners and not the customer. I would not recommend Season and will certainly not be eating there again. It is situated in delightful grounds and initially, has a welcoming atmosphere, but it needs to 'up it's game' if it is to succeed as a top restaurant.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pleasant restaurant, good food, generous portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

It was our first visit to this restaurant and we enjoyed dinner. The food was very good, if a little on the rich side, and the portions were generous. Be aware that some of the starters are rather large and could spoil ones appetite for the main course. We were seated at 7.30 pm and though our order was taken fairly promptly, we had a long wait between the starter and main course. However, the waitress did acknowledge our presence each time she passed us with plates of food for other tables so we knew we had not been forgotten! One of our party requested fish as a main course (although it was not on the menu) and was told that there was no fish, which seems a little strange for a restaurant of this calibre. Tables had plenty of space between them and the room was pleasant. The only downside was the chairs seats were hard and uncomfortable to sit on for such a long time. Despite this, we will certainly go again.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Season Eco Eatery also viewed

Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 

Been to Season Eco Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Season Eco Eatery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.