We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bocadillos Bakery and Cafe

Bocadillos Bakery and Cafe
42 6th Ave,Walmer, Port Elizabeth, South Africa
0415811523
Improve this listing
Price range: $1 - $12
Cuisines: Bistro
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We love this little place! From the salads to the cakes. I always enjoy the Thai beef salad & my husband loves the pasta. Added bonus is the free Wi-fi.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    20
    11
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great for breakfast too”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We usually go for lunch, and enjoy the great variety of food on offer, but choose to go for brunch expecting the same offering. We were surprised to find an extensive breakfast menu with some unusual choices. I was feeling a bit tired and had a mood lifter to drink - I didn't ask what it was but I got a mug of hot water with lemon and a shot glass of what I discovered to be raw ginger juice, and a little pot of honey - mixed together it was delicious and I did feel better. I opted for a sweet breakfast of crumpets with bananas, honey and creme fraice - delicious! My husband had the chicken livers on ciabatto bread - also delicious. The serving sizes are substantial and reasonably priced.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“OK but not as good as we hoped for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Only visited this restaurant because of the good reviews. Whilst we weren't disappointed we weren't over-awed. We ordered a beef burger and to compensate for leaving off the bacon and cheese, a second patty was offered. We also ordered a chicken mayo on ciabatta. Unfortunately the patty was not the best - too many chewy bits and the black olives were too overpowering for the meal. Despite asking for no cheese, the side salad came with feta. The promised red peppers did not make an appearance and the mushroom sauce was way too oily. Capuccino was OK. Had a slice of Apple crumble after the manager/owner advised that there were no raisins in it. Turned out that he does not what his products contain. However, the crumble was good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, UK
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Delicious cakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I've been to Bocadillos twice and both times was met by friendly, relaxed service and a great range of delicious cakes. Their pancakes were nicely presented and the carrot cake came as an enormous wedge of a serving. The place is pricey compared to nearby bakeries, but the professional table service justifies this mark-up in my opinion. The fresh fruit juices are yummy too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Overrated and expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This place is beautifully decorated and the food is well presented, but it is really expensive, especially for Port Elizabeth. I don't mind paying, but then it must be descent. For example take away slice of pecan nut tart, R32 for a tiny slice. There is just no comparison with other bakery/deli's like Fournos in Joburg.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bocadillos Bakery and Cafe also viewed

Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 

Been to Bocadillos Bakery and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bocadillos Bakery and Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.