We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly amazing and awesome once in a lifetime experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Raggy Charters

Raggy Charters
Algoa Bay Yacht Club, Port Elizabeth, South Africa
(0)73 152 2277
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Banbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“A truly amazing and awesome once in a lifetime experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We set out early on Friday 13th December. Friday 13th unlucky? Not for us! We had a truly amazing trip enthralled whilst watching more than 50 jumps by juvenile humpback whales exploding out of the white crested waves. Furthermore we watched more than a dozen mothers with calves breaking the surface as they migrated through the harbour. Much of the activity took place close to the boat enabling the skipper and passengers to take incredible photos. What started out as a possible cancellation due to the wind strength and direction, ended up as being an unforgettable day. Even our highly experienced skipper was enthralled at having had his best day of the year and one of the best in 16 years of whale watching. We would have been happy to see one whale but to witness what we did was just awesome.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    8
    0
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tanzania
1 review
“Unforgetable moments amongst the giants!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

I wasn't sure of what to expect when we organised a trip with Lloyd. I had been whale watching before in scotland, and it was safe to say, with the rain we weren't able to see much more than the railing we were holding onto for dear life, and the promise of a mouldy mars bar for the first sighting of a minke whale was long forgotten.

With Lloyd it was a comepletely different experience. Not only did we get to see a beautiful female humpback whale and her calf, we also learnt plently about these beautiful giants. Lloyds extensive knowledge was nothing short of incredible. Our next stop was around st croix island where we saw dolphins and for the first time I saw the african penguins! I didnt get to see just one but hundreds, and later on that evening I learnt that my thanks should go to Lorien and her tireless efforts to keep our penguins safe! I am also a keen photographer, which being with Lloyd was amazing as he too is a fantastic photographer, so thank you for the tips.

We then stayed over at their Seaview home, where hospitality and kindness did not fall short. We were welcomed in such a generous fashion, it was a perfect ending for a perfect day. So I thought! Lloyd took us on a great walk and showed us his beach clean up project which was incredible and again another example of the deterermination he has for doing his bit to make a difference, a lesson we could take with us in our everyday lives.
We still had Lorien's amazing presentation of her efforts to protect the endangered african penguins and what she has achieved so far. I take my hat off to her efforts, as I hear penguins bite quite hard! Lloyd' presentation was brilliant with some amazing shots of whales, dolphins, gannets, seals and much more.

Thank you too you both for an amazing time, it was a first for me and I hope more people will take the time to come see this marine marvel!!
Asante sana
Tam Hoskyns-Abrahall

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“An experience not to be missed in PE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I believe that if you stay in a city you should take part in all the city has to offer and that includes the "tourist" attractions! We have been living in PE for 5 years now and i always wanted to visit the island i see from the land called St Croix island. Last saturday we did just that! Wow! To be out in the open air on the sea is wonderful and makes one feel alive and one with nature. Allthough the whale mom and calf played hide and seek it was still exciting to see if we could find them. We saw many different sea birds and lots of penguins on the isalnd. Too cute! What an experience to see a school of 300 dolphins swimming and playing around the boat. It was the highlight of the trip! Our next visit will be Bird island! Cant wait!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogue River, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Five of our family members were fortunate to take the trip into Algoa Bay during a November visit to South Africa. Lloyd Edwards was a terrific guide and we all appreciated his passion for the well being of the creatures in the bay. The boat was quite comfortable and we were blessed with beautiful weather. We saw several humpbacks and sleeping seals, but for all of us residents of North America, the penguins were a highlight. Most of us have been residents of Alaska for 20 to 30+ years so whales are not uncommon to us though always special. The penguins however were fascinating and LLoyd was a wealth of information about the the penguins as well as the history of St. Croix Island. It was really a fabulous experience!!!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Excellent trip! Highly recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

When we called Lloyd for the trip, there weren't enough other applicants for the trip (low season). Lloyd went out of his way to find two other persons (minimum of 4 is required). In the early morning we heard it could proceed (otherwise we would have continued our trip). He already offered us a free night at his place in the area to make up for the disappointment, if it wouldn't go through.
The plan was to go to the penguin Island with his hispeed boat, where his wife does her field studies on the penguin colony (a French biologist, whom we unfortunately didn't meet). This way there is always the possibility of seeing something. We were lucky to spot several Humpbacks on the way there, which we started to follow. Lloyd is very respectful towards the animals, but you can get close looks (do hold on thightly!). It was a great trip were we also saw loads of dolphins and a dead humpback calf near the beach. We were there middle of november. Than the Humpbacks return with their calves. this makes they don't go very fast either, so perfect time. The southern right whales were gone by then. After the trip we had lunch together and we decided to accept the offer of staying at his house (I belief he offers this more often, out of his own travellers values). He lives very nicely and we even saw more whales and dolphins from the deck. really nice to get to know 'a local' with such hospitality! later on we travelled to Hermanus where we didn't see anymore whales (from the land). All with all the trip with Raggy's was one of our highlights. attached is a picture Lloyd took (better photographer). Pictures he took of the dead calf were in the local newspaper the next day (the beach had to be closed due to higher shark presence). We can really recommend it, also because he is so involved in the environment. Good to support his cause, we felt. And a whole lot we got in return! greetings, Robbert & Esther, Amsterdam.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raggy Charters also viewed

Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 

Been to Raggy Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raggy Charters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.