We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Day out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South African Air Force Museum

South African Air Force Museum
Forest Hill Drive, Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Military Museums, Museums
Attraction details
2 reviews
“Day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Great piece of history. Enjoyed the day out... will definitely go back again. Would be nice to see it restored 100%

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    2
    0
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shepperton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“very interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

It is a museum with many interesting artifacts, with interesting and helpful staff.
I was not interested in going there just went yo keep hubbie company and even I found things to read and learn.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Exhibotion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Facilities are old but kept in good condition by the Museum staff. The staff are friendly and always willing to help and answer questions from visitors. A small restaurant with good food where you can have a small lunch or breakfast. Airplanes at the exhibition is nice and my kids could even sit in the cockpit of one of the planes. Lots of model airplane on display as well.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice airplanes to view”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

They got a very nice exhibition. We wanted to have an event there but when we had a look at the premises and all the questions they asked us we felt like criminals so thats my reason for giving them a poor rating.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Ideal for young and old”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I visited the museum with my kids and they absolutely loved it. The kids were fascinated by the planes and other bigger displays while I found the older visitors who were there on our visit, although they also looked at the bigger things, found the smaller exhibits and information to be of interest. An interesting addition to the museum is the hanger next door where planes are restored and serviced. The museum is really worth an hour or so of one's time.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South African Air Force Museum also viewed

 
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 

Been to South African Air Force Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South African Air Force Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.