We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing not what we expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kwantu Private Game Reserve - Day Visits

Kwantu Private Game Reserve - Day Visits
Nelson Mandela Bay, Port Elizabeth, South Africa
+27 (42) 203 1400
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Zoos, Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Attraction Details
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing not what we expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

We looked at a few volunteer programs and choose this one as we wanted the hands on experience with the baby animals and being able to see the big 5 in the wild.

Was disappointing as there was no hands on interaction with the animals except for the elephants at the Kwantu Elephant Sanctuary which was an amazing experience took them some apples which they loved got to feed and ride them.

We did a lot of weeding and slashing thistle. Although we did see wild animals we didn't have any interaction and there was no baby animals to play with.

The accommodation was nice and well looked after 16 bed dorm rooms. The food was standard and nothing exciting but was always plenty to go around and you never went hungry.

For the cost of this trip I wouldn't recommend it as there are some very nice game reserves which you could spend a few days at and see a lot more animals.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    7
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Kwantu Elephant Sanctuary is definitely an a place to visit in the Eastern Cape.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

I took a group of 27 to the Kwantu Elephant Sanctuary. The chief ranger explained everything about elephants and we found the information very informative. Afterwards everybody was allowed to interact with the elephants. This was the highlight for my group to interact with these gentle giants. We were allowed to go for rides on the elephants and view the different species of buck on the sanctuary. As an ex-SPCA Senior Inspector, I looked at the stables which were clean, food and water supply which was available, as they are kept inside at night. The elephants did not show any signs of stress while interacting with people. The sanctuary has a massive lounge for Halaal drinks and snacks. A salaah room (Muslim Prayer room ) for males and females is available. As an inbound tour operator and registered tourist guide, I will definitely take more groups to visit the sanctuary.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paarl
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011 via mobile

We visited Kwantu's Pollards Inn for the long weekend. Although the rooms were a nice size and well furnished the food was to say the least pathetic. There is no personal attention and the whole experience is disappointing. There is absolutely no value for money. Choose any of all the other game reserves in area but give this one a miss.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Love it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011 via mobile

My husband and I spent 2 days in Kwantu on our honeymoon. We really loved it. Our cottage was amazing, the food was great and if I had another chance to go there, I definitely would!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Real Gap's Kwantu South African experience trip, a disapointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

This was a 2 week volunteer trip booked through Real gap. With this trip we had the opportunity to work at Kwantu game reserve for 1 week, and then travel the garden route stopping at various places, doing various activities ect. This trip was put together and planned by Kwantu and was very disorganized.
Working at the game reserve was a good experience and most of the rangers really wanted us to have an amazing experience. Food was included and we had great accomodation. The staff were friendly, and took into any concerns that you may have had.
However, after working monday - friday Kwantu told us that we had to leave the game reserve and go into Port Elizabeth for the weekend. This was not well scheduled in our intinerary and we ended up paying for our own food for the last couple days of the 1 week we were supposed to get supplied on the trip. When we went to Port Elizabeth we were given a driver, not a tour guide (not stated in the intinerary) who did not know anything about the intinerary for the next week, let alone even that day. He had no idea when he should be picking us up, when we were leaving, or even knew what activity we were really doing. He didn't even know that breakfast was included on the following week.
The communication between the bus driver and the volunteers was terrible. He would drop up off in places and not tell us where we were. Every time we got dropped off at a hostel we had to ask the receptionist where we were. It was so bad at one point that a lady at the hostel came up to us and directly asked us, what we were doing here and that all 13 of us looked so discouraged and un-happy when we walked into the hostel. The garden route is supposed to be one of the most gorgeous areas to see in south africa but when you know nothing about what your looking at or what towns you are driving through and when the bus driver is in a rush then there is no connection to the place what so ever.
Some days, we only had one activity that took a total of 1-3 hours in the day and because our bus driver knew nothing about the area then we were left sitting in our hostel completley discouraged. Unless, of course you just want to see another shop.
He did not stop for food for us for long periods of time. I mean from 7:30a - 8p at night.
The hostel accomodation was good, though.
All of us are trying to get some sort of compensation back from the trip, and as with most companies they are quick to defend their partner company (kwantu) and have "taken" into consideration all of our concerns for future references leaving us with a good will gesture of $80.00 out of the $2,600 I spent on the trip. What you get on this trip, is NOT worth the value paid."
We were taken advantage of, and I would not rate this a trip worth while. The reserve was the only thing I can take away from this and say it was somewhat worth the money I spent.
If you are looking to work on this reserve, I would recommend not booking through a tour company but through Kwantu game reserve alone and save money, keeping in mind to stay far away from doing garden route with them afterwards.

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kwantu Private Game Reserve - Day Visits also viewed

 
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 

Been to Kwantu Private Game Reserve - Day Visits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kwantu Private Game Reserve - Day Visits, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kwantu Private Game Reserve - Day Visits to your Saves list