We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Otters Lodge

Save Saved
You added Sea Otters Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sea Otters Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   15 Seaway Drive | Kini Bay, Port Elizabeth, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Great getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

What a great location and venue for a few days getaway from the hustle of Johannesburg. Our family had a fantastic break and the hospitality was first class. The long breakfasts were definitely a highlight of each day!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre K, Owner at Sea Otters Lodge, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Yes, Sea Otters Lodge is nearby everything although we are away from the hustle & bustle of city life. It was a big pleasure welcoming you to Sea Otters Lodge. Our staff really enjoyed working with your family. So glad you enjoyed the beach as it is just a few steps from the Guest House onto the beach. We srife to satisfy all guests with a generous breakfast to last them during the day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
4
8
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay.
The staff did everything to make our stay superb.
The food is good.
The venue is clean and beautiful.
And the beach is just outside the door!
What a pleasant surprise to discover this place.
Wow.
We will be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre K, Owner at Sea Otters Lodge, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
It is such a big honor & pleasure to have families & guests enjoying what we have to offer, specially when so much care & love is appreciated. We always strive to offer the best service and good quality food to all our guests & visitors. We welcome all returning guests with very wide open arms, like the first day we have met them. Thank you for making Sea Otters Lodge your choice of accommodation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Kini bay is an isolated "village" with very little surrounding amenities. We stayed for one night at Sea Otters Lodge and had to drive into Port Elizabeth for dinner. Our children's room smelled very strongly of moth balls, which was very overpowering, and the brushed cotton sheets were not comfortable. The breakfast was very disappointing - there is a "menu" offering different options for breakfast, at an additional cost per person, and the service was chaotic. This was not a homely or welcoming guest house, very disappointing.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre K, Owner at Sea Otters Lodge, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for the review...

Kini Bay is situated 13 km from Port Elizabeth suburbs. There are a KwikSpar, Liquor Store, Laundromat, Pharmacy & Pub & Grub within 3 km. Barnacle Restaurant is 3.5 km from Sea Otters Lodge as well as various other Restaurants & Tourist attractions within 9 - 15 km from Kini Bay. The guest arrived late afternoon making it impossible to visit some of the tourist attractions in the area.

We use mothballs in all our rooms to keep away fishmoths and the like, these. Mothballs are removed from a booked room at least 1 day before guest arrival and we are terribly sorry for any inconvenience caused by the smell thereof, usually the smell dissappears within 24 hours after being removed from the cupboards / closets.

At the time of the guest stay our breakfast policy was that breakfast is not included in any rates and that breakfast is an optional extra service (order from menu). I personally oversee & cook breakfast for guests and the family of 4 was the only persons for breakfast that specific morning receiving my personal attention and all received their served breakfasts that were ordered at the same time to enjoy together as a family.

All our guests are personally welcomed & greated by either the Owners or Miriam (our staff lady) and immediately taken to their rooms after check-in and shown all the gimmicks in room. We have many great guest reviews regarding Miriam and our friendly service in our signed guest book and we treat all our guests with the same respect & friendliness at all times, which they all deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

Situated in quiet little Kini Bay, right on the sea front (which is fairly rocky), Sea Otters Lodge makes you one of the family. The rooms are very cosy with copious amenities - tea, coffee, snacks, generous bathroom amenities. Guests can also use the kitchen/living room near the entrance whenever necessary. Breakfasts are served down below in a large room overlooking the sea. The breakfast was plentiful and extremely good .

The owner, Pierre Kolesky, is very friendly, helpful and knows the area well. If you want more privacy, go to a hotel. If you want the warmth of a home away from home in an imposing house within a twenty minute drive of Port Elizabeth, then this is it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre K, Owner at Sea Otters Lodge, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for the great review.

We always strive to perfection and knowledge about the area we stay in, with personal service when possible. We try our utmost best at all times to make all guests feel at home and make use of the facilities we have to offer or to make use of attractions or other facilities in the nearby area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sea Otters Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Otters Lodge

Address: 15 Seaway Drive | Kini Bay, Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 50 Specialty lodging in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sea Otters Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savour the peace and quiet of this beautiful hidden gem, while listening to the waves breaking on the shore, perched ever so perfectly on the beachfront of Kini Bay, a quaint village setting in Port Elizabeth. Sea Otters Lodge offers visitors en suite bedrooms, lounges, dining room and conference / function / wedding facilities, all of which are accompanied by magical sea views and direct access to the beach. Situated away from the daily hustle & bustle of city life …. Enjoy a walk on the beach while gathering some pebbles and shells or enjoy reading a book on the sundeck whilst enjoying a refreshing beverage. Come and enjoy some of the fine things that life has to offerAll bedrooms sea facing with sea viewDirect access to the beach Sea Otters Lodge is fully licensed and offers guests the following…• Free breakfast is served to overnight guests • Free WiFi – Limited to 100 MB per guest room booked per day, extra usage thereafter at R 75 per 1 GB or part thereof • Acrylic & Gel Nails by The Nail Boutique – Pre-booking essential• Access control to secure on-site parking• Lounge for the exclusive use of guests• On-site self-service braai facilities – guests need to supply their own firelighters, wood or charcoal, drinks, meats & salads & extras, Sea Otters Lodge will supply the rest• Microwave on each floor level • Honesty bar in lounge areasAwarded One of South Africa’s Best Accommodation Establishments by the AA and American Express Accommodation AwardsSea Otters Lodge is a place like none other. Its blissful surroundings and beautiful settings make it the ideal place for social gatherings, be it birthdays, anniversaries or weddings. For those couples wanting to get married near the seaside, Sea Otters Lodge guarantees an incredible experience on this magical and unforgettable day. Catering exclusively for arranged groups and offering delectable menus to choose from. Sea Otters Lodge also caters for business conferences, with various conference packages available General Room Information …• Remote controlled television with DSTV Hotel Package)• Direct dial telephone - Activated on request only • Coffee & Tea making facility + Rusks• Emergency light and Candle• Coffee table + 2 x armchairs• Guest Bathroom Amenities• International plug point• Dressing table & chair• Heating in en suite • Digital laptop safe• Private Entrance• Fully serviced• Ceiling Fan• Hairdryer ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Sea Otters Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Otters Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.