We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Awesome"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Schotia Safaris Private Game Reserve

Schotia Safaris Private Game Reserve
PO Box 105 | Paterson, Port Elizabeth 6130, South Africa
042 235 1436
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Tours, Adventure
Attraction details
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“"Awesome"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was certainly the best experience of our 17 days in South Africa! We started our Safari at 3 pm with Ranger Edward, great guy and had answers to every question, and stayed overnight in one of the lodges. We heard the lions roaring in the night probably around 200 metres away from our lodge - it was a unique experience. The next day started at 7am with a morning Safari, a very good breakfast at 9am and finshed at 10.30am. This is a just very brief overview and it is impossible to describe what we saw I can only say that we will do it again!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    9
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A morning Safari”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

31/12 2012
A Private game reserve just east of Addo Elephant Park, north of Port Elisabeth.
The reserve is divided in two parts were different animals live. Normally they offer a package from three in the afternoon to nine o’clock at night and one sleeping over in a rustic camp. We did not sleep in the camp but it looked nice, just so uncomfortable to get the feel of adventure. As we could not take one of their standard programs they offered us a two hour round trip. We were taken around in open big Land Rover, with a sunroof. Our guide/game warden, Mr Edward, was really a great guy. Very knowledgeable about anything we asked and he knew how to find the animals and how to behave. A star to him ! We saw a complete lion family at close distance (almost scary), giraffes, rhinos plus many types of birds and kudus etc.
I recommend this game reserve. Nice staff and well kept.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Best Game Drive in Eastern Cape!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We enjoyed a day full of wonderful surprises. The game ranger was extremely knowledgeable and contributed to the overall experience. Game in abundance. Great food and enjoyed the night time driving.
We will return again and again.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Hippo vs lions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Schotia has a fine selection of predators and prey... AND those in between... The hippos... Hippos look the same, so Schotia ended up with to female hippos. But they're all girl power!

Schotia is not afraid of mixing a powerful group of 12 lions with the rest of the food chain, so we had the chance to see well fed lions after a succesful hunt AND stupid lions (the same) trying to convert 4 tonnes of hippo into a night snack (bad idea!)

All power to the hippos!!!!!! Go visit

Note: You can make a perfect combination day tour with Addo to see the huge herds of elephants as well.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“One of the best things we did in SA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

One word sums up our experience in Schotia....unforgettable! From our guides Nic and Etienne to the great friends we met to the amazing up close and personal encounters with wild animals, this was an experience both my fiancé and I will treasure. We got lucky as we witnessed a pride of lions after a kill and got about 10 feet away as they fed on their warthog....and then out came the male lion who showed them who's boss and took it all for himself, it was a real adrenaline rush seeing this do close! We captured amazing videos and photos which we look at daily! We would highly recommend, the experience from start to finish was brilliant, even the kudu stew!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schotia Safaris Private Game Reserve also viewed

Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Addo Elephant National Park, Greater Addo
 
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 

Been to Schotia Safaris Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schotia Safaris Private Game Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.