We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eltham Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Eltham Lodge to your Saves list
Eltham Lodge
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   5 Chalmers Road | Humewood, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 186 Port Elizabeth B&B and Inns
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I was traveling with my niece and we loved every bit of our stay at the lodge. Breakfast was always wonderful. Brian and Margaret are wonderful hosts and always ready to advise. I was as though we became part of their extended family while we were there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret T, Owner at Eltham Lodge, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Hello Bongekile
Thank you for your lovely comments. It was such fun having you and your niece stay with us.
And you did feel like part of the family to us.
Are you watching Celebrity Masterchef LOL?
We look forward to seeing you both again , on your next trip to PE.
Take care
Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
9
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Helsinge
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

staying at eltham lodge is at fantastic pleasure, Margaret and Brian are doing everything to you having a good holiday.. Love the breakfast and there kindness. Lovely City Hope we come back thanks from Denmark

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret T, Owner at Eltham Lodge, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you Morton and Camilla so much for a lovely review.
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to see you both again soon.
Hope you had a lot of fun on the rest of your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meyerton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I would like to thank Margaret for the most awesome stay we had at the lodge. Everything was perfect. Margaret assisted by giving information on places to visit and things to do which made our holiday most memorable. I will definitely be staying at Eltham Lodge on my next visit to P.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret T, Owner at Eltham Lodge, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you Wanda for your review, we really appreciate your comments.
We thoroughly enjoyed having you and your family staying with us, and look forward to seeing you on your next trip to PE.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My mother & I spent 5nights at Eltham Lodge.We felt as though we were part of an extended famil.Brian made the most superb breakfasts, and Margaret was just lovely in making us feel at home. It was like visiting old friends and catching up on news.I had my dog with me and she was made to feel like part of the family also.The accomodation is clean and comfortable,lovely garden and entertainment room at the pool.we will definitely stay again should we visit Port Elizabeth.It is within easy access to beaches and restaurants.A lovely place to relax in.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret T, Owner at Eltham Lodge, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Hello Mary

Thank you for the lovely comments.
It was my pleasure meeting you and your daughter and Shona.
Hope to see you again when you visit PE.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

To us Eltham Lodge is the best B&B in Port Elizabeth with really friendly owners and just a great place to stay. The accommodation is very clean with fresh linen and towels, it's really comfortable and ideally situated. Brian and Margaret are great hosts and do their best to ensure your stay with them is very enjoyable. Margaret serves a fabulous breakfast, makes you feel so welcome, is very helpful and one of the nicest people you could meet. We have stayed here twice, will definitely return and would recommend it as the perfect home from home place to stay in PE.

Pauline & Warren, Manchester, England

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret T, Owner at Eltham Lodge, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
We love having you stay at Eltham Lodge, and hope too see you both again in February 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

had a fantastic break here ,very nice property , situated in nice position/location. room was very clean fresh linen, food lovely and hearty [just like my mumma makes] and brian and margeret go that little bit extra to ensure it feels just like home from home. looking forward to oneday hopefully revisiting.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret T, Owner at Eltham Lodge, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you so much for the lovely comments, hope you have a return visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We arrived at Eltham Lodge, very early in the morning and were extended a wonderful welcome even though we were not expected until much later. Margaret was very kind and served us a hot English Breakfast, the same morning of arrival; perfect after our long drive south. (Loved the scrambled eggs!)
We loved the property and room size, lodge location and best of all, the warm wonderful personal touch extended to us. We enjoyed the walk to the beach, just a few minutes away and my son was thrilled to make friends with Buster – the adorable dog.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret T, Owner at Eltham Lodge, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review, we do appreciated your comments. And glad you enjoyed your stay at Eltham Lodge. Looking forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Eltham Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eltham Lodge

Address: 5 Chalmers Road | Humewood, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 186 B&Bs / Inns in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Eltham Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eltham Lodge is an owner run Guesthouse offering bed and breakfast accommodation ideally suited for business or leisure guests offering a warm, friendly welcome, great hospitality and excellent three star graded accommodation.Large garden and pool facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Eltham Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eltham Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.