We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ginger

Ginger
Marine Drive | Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6000, South Africa
+27 41 583 1229
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Where good food and good times meet... Ideal location adjacent to the Beach Hotel and the Boardwalk Casino and Entertainment Complex. The atmosphere is friendly, airy and chic, with sufficient secure parking and spectacular views of the beach. The food is a combination of the finest, fresh ingredients that in turn create subtle dishes with distinctive flavours and Eastern Cape influence. Ginger is a fusion between elegant chic and contemporary fine fare... A fresh take on fine dining. The Service is top-rated and the food is a taste bud experience.
Reinach, Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We spent 2 nights in PE and did not know where to go out for dinner. The Ginger restaurant was located near to our hotel and therefore we to have dinner there with our 10 year old son. We must admit that this was one of the best restaurants we have ever been. The interior was genuine and stylish, our waiter was very friendly and the food was absolutely excellent. My fillet Bastille and its bearnaise was so delicious. Also my husband and my son were delighted. We can highly recommend this restaurant and we would definitly return there again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinAlanC, Ginger Team at Ginger, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive feedback on our restaurant. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and the fillet Bastille. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
The Ginger Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    77
    35
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Finest restaurant of Summerstrand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We enjoyed mead and as well the fish!
This is the best restaurant in Port Elisabeth! Try the chateaubriand!!!!
Service was excellent, price quality no better in Europe!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Myself and a few colleagues stopped here for cocktails and a bite to eat. The cocktails and food were terrific, and the restaurant was lovely inside.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“GINGER OUTSTANDING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Have been there with family , and with business associates.Always great attention,service,food,ambiance. Try it !

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“I was a little disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The setting is nice and the atmosphere is good. I was disappointed with the good though. I had calamari as a starter and the catch of the day. Both were a bit tasteless.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ginger also viewed

Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth
Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth
 
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 

Been to Ginger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ginger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.