We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not again” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lungile Backpackers Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lungile Backpackers Lodge to your Saves list
Lungile Backpackers Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hostel   |   12 La Roche Drive, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“not again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Only a one night stay and it won't happen again! The people behind the desk had no idea and were drunk, poor service!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    25
    8
    7
    1
See reviews for
6
19
29
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kent
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

PE was a compulsary stop on the BazBus...I had read that there wasn't much to do in the town so I just spen one evening here.

I paid a deposit on line and settled the balance on arrival. Despite this - they deducted my credit card! It would have cost me more to telephone them to dispute it, given that by the time it came through on my card I was on a different Continent.

I stayed in a 12 bedded dorm (6 bunk beds) - however if you had the bottom bunk you couldn't even sit up!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cybermarce, Manager at Lungile Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, April 9, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to send a review of your stay. Your review is highly regarded. Apologies for the inconvenience caused regarding your payment. Could you please forward me your booking information ie your name and arrival date so I can make my best attempt in resolving the issue in the best possible way and send you feedback.

I hope you will choose to visit Port Elizabeth again and explore what the city and the area has to offer, Game Viewing at some of the most famous parks in South Africa like the Addo Elephant Park and the many other popular game parks in the area boasting the Big 5, cultural tours and a visit to the Apartheid Museum, scuba diving, surfing or surf lessons, sandboarding, whale and dolphin watching to mention just a few adventures on our doorstep.
If you would prefer to contact me directly my email address is admin@islandvibe.co.za

I look forward to your response.

Regards

Marcelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

This place met our expectations. They have friendly staff, nice and clean double room with ensuite and basic breakfast included. Bar + Pool area. Don't expect extra comfort though. It's a classical backpackers place. The hostal is located quite close to the waterfront (nicest area in Port Elisabeth) so many nice places are reachable in walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

I found Lungile Lodge to be an excellent place to stay for my total of 5 nights there, on 2 separate occasions. Some rooms are like a hotel with very decent double rooms with en-suite facilities and of course others are shared, but all are of a good standard.

Its set in Humewood which is a safe area (don't stay in the central area!). Just 5 mins away is the sea with a range of bars and restaurants (including Macdonalds!).

Bebe the manager was very helpful. I would definately recommend this backpackers to you.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

On arriving in Lungile, we were shown to our room, which had two people already in it. The somewhat grumpy staff then moved us to another room in which the creosote fumes from the woodwork nearly knocked us over, and the fridge made a colossal din all night. The lights didn't work and the shower wasn't great. All in all, not somewhere we'd recommend.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

NIce location, clean, friendly, good decor, nice pool and really good atmosphere

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lungile Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lungile Backpackers Lodge

Address: 12 La Roche Drive, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lungile Backpackers Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Lungile Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lungile Backpackers Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.