We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous rooms, food quality poor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amakhala Safari Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Elizabeth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amakhala Safari Lodge
Save
You added Amakhala Safari Lodge to your Saves list
N2, between Port Elizabeth and Grahamstown | Amakhala Game Reserve, Port Elizabeth 6070, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous rooms, food quality poor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

The lodge huts are very nice with own terrasse, pool, outdoor showers, nicely decorated. Excellent game drives, although you have to cross the main highway to reach the other part of the reserve where the lions and most of the game is. Staff needs some more training, and food quality should be improved, then we can highly recommend the lodge.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeWeeks, Owner at Amakhala Safari Lodge, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on the Safari Lodge. My wife and I spent a lot of time on the lodge design and are glad that you enjoyed the rooms. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your safari too.
We have taken note of your disappointment with the food and will try and establish what happened during your stay. Our policy is to employ local where we can. Most of our staff have been with us for many years and service is normally high on the list of praises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    22
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
87
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We arrived and had a lovely welcome from Casper. He showed us to our lodge which overlooked the waterhole and explained all of the facilities and our itineraries. Very busy time for our three days and little time to actually be in our lodge. However we had come to see the animals. Amakhala only had two other guests there for our first night so didn't get to enjoy the lovely fires that were lit each evening and on our third night we were the only guests. Reserve is still in its infancy in terms of the animals but the rangers go out of their way to try to let you see what is there. Downside is I think they need to upgrade their vehicles. Our first vehicle had mechanical issues and on our last trip out it was the vehicle we were in so uncomfortable neither my husband or I could appreciate what we were seeing and it was a sad end to what had been a magical experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagold, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

It was simply great. We could just turn off our everyday life and jump into an African adventure... Guided Safaris in the Morning and afternoon. Enough Time to enjoy your room with an Outdoor shower, your own Little Pool on your Terrace and wild animals passing by just 10m away! The Butler was lovely, everything included, food, drinks (also Wine in the evening) and some really nice and visitor focussed Rangers. WE will come again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

An amazing experience. This really was the whole reason for me going to Africa to do a safari and this did not disappoint in any way the accommodation was lovely and unique. The food was delicious and the service was perfect. Special thanks to Noni our guide who was amazing and so passionate about the animals and Casper the man who kept us all in order. He was so bossy but so funny and lovely. On the one afternoon that we had good weather we were in the plunge pool when two baby giraffes walked passed how magical is that? The stars were so bright there. Unfortunately we didn't get to see the free lions only the old ones in the enclosure but I did manage to get to Shamwari and see the Born Free Foundation encloser which is very sad on one hand but as the guide said its a very comfortable retirement home for them after the bad treatment they have had. This place was everything I hoped it would be and more.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We spent two nights at this lodge and very much enjoyed ourselves. The ranger was knowledgeable and personable, despite the rain :) Our room was spacious and comfortable - the floors were heated which was a nice surprise after a wet game drive! Our dinner was amazing and the staff was very attentive. The only downside is that other than the game drives, there is nothing else to do. But the views were beautiful to behold from our room.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimbledon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

We stayed 2 nights as part of our Honeymoon to South Africa and this was by far the best highlight for me as I had always wanted to go on a Safari. The lodge was gorgeous and had rustic charm but was very comfortable and attention to detail is one of their real strengths! Its very private and with only 11 rooms the staff really do look after you. Although the food was great the breakfast was AMAZING! especially after a morning of searching and finding the Big 5....I would totally recommend this Reserve.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

What can I say! Of our extended trip of three and a half weeks, the three days spent here is what we find ourselves talking about. We arrived with no pre conceived ideas of what to expect which was just as well as we could not have imagined this place. Non stop from when we arrived 'till we left. The staff could not have been more attentive and warm and our Butler was always at hand and outstanding. The food was excellent, not only in content but in how it was served. The location was spectacular in itself but once out on the park, it was one animal after another. Have loads of memory cards! Our guides were superb and we were lucky enough to have all three, Matthew, Noni and Big Kat! The accommodation was fun to say the least, very comfortable and well appointed. Up at 5, lift the walls and there are animals looking in at you! Brilliant! Would love to return with the kids (19 & 21)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amakhala Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amakhala Safari Lodge

Address: N2, between Port Elizabeth and Grahamstown | Amakhala Game Reserve, Port Elizabeth 6070, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Port Elizabeth
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by indigenous bush, the stylish Safari Lodge is part of the 7500 ha, Big 5, malaria free, Amakhala Game Reserve. Safari Lodge is only 45 minutes from Port Elizabeth. African tribal design inspired the creation of this intimate thatched lodge, and eleven unique safari huts offer all the comforts. Soak in a luxurious double bath or splash off the dust in an outdoor shower before sharing your day's adventures around the fireside under a canopy of stars. On a recommended three day safari enjoy game drives with a professional guide in open Landrovers, sun downers on a river cruise and a visit to Addo National Elephant Park. Fair Trade in Tourism accredited. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amakhala Safari Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.