We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely home away from home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Manga Country House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bella Manga Country House to your Saves list
Bella Manga Country House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   PO Box176 | Uplands, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 73 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“lovely home away from home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

We stayed in the 3-bedroom house, which was perhaps 1k away from the rest of the lodgings. The house and garden were beautiful, and we were especially impressed with the braai facility on the rear patio. Since we were there in winter, we did not take advantage of the pool or pool house, but they looked inviting. Ray and Fiona were friendly and informative hosts. This was a great place to stay for our family of five.

Only (very minor) drawback - it is a bit off the beaten path, and the house had no phone, so be sure to take a cellular along.

Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    20
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
46
56
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

A lovely place to stay within 10 minute drive of Plettenburg Bay.
Fiona and Ray were friendly & helpful. The accomodation was very comfortable. The setting was beautiful. I know where I would base myself, if I was to return to the Garden Route.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

Ray and Fiona who own Bella Manga were excellent hosts. They had other guests in different parts but we were fortunate to stay in one of the rondevals that was a two story dwelling.
I travelled with my partner and my friend. The two story building was perfect for us as we each had our own sleeping areas and bathroom but were still kind of staying together.
Checking in was a quick straight forward process, and involved chatting about the place and the area we were in and what there was to do in the area.
Due to being there out of season, there was no evening meal, however we were directed to a lovely place 10 minutes down the road called Wybos. The food was absolutely superb and very reasonably priced! The steaks were amazing!
At the last minute we changed our travel plans (we travelled from Cape Town up to Addo and then back to Cape Town) and decided to stay on the road an additional night. We were pleased to find out that we could stay again at Bella Manga on our way back.
Ray and Fiona treated us as if we were friends coming to stay rather than paying customers, however they did not crowd us.
The rooms were perfect, with a very comfortable bed, very clean and light and airy. The shower and toilet were en-suite, with a very good and powerful shower, was just perfect after spending time in the car!!!
Although there was no evening meal, breakfast was included and it was also very good. There was fruit, cereal, toast and a full fry up! Although mind out for the cat, I believe he's called Squire, as he is rather partial to a bit of bacon!!!!
On our return trip we really were treated as returning friends, asking how our trip was going and offering to book us on other activities in the area, which would have been great, but we were running out of time unfortunately.
Overall, we had an excellent stay here!!!
Ray and Fiona, thank you so much for your hospitality!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

This country house is located 15 minutes from Plettenberg Bay and is in a very quiet beautiful area. It is very peaceful and relaxing. The hosts are very kind and accommodating. Wonderful self-catering units with kitchen that have everything that you need. Really enjoyed our stay at the Bella Manga country house.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

Beautiful location just 15 minutes from the beaches and restaurants of Plettenberg bay, first class accommodation, facilities and service; nothing was too much trouble, we had the holiday of a lifetime.
It is one of those rare places that you feel as though you have left part of you there, and that you must one day return. and we will

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2010

We are frequent travellers to South Africa, having family living in Cape Town. This year we decided to break our stay and venture across to Plettenburg Bay for a few days (13th to 18th Feb). We opted for Bella Manga as it was away from the hustle and bustle of the town. We were not disappointed.

Although Bella Manga is situated off the main tar road, along a typical South African dirt road, it is still easily accessible by car.

The Self Catering Forest Lodges are set away from the main house, which is stunning in itself. The lodges are surrounded by trees and farmland, all adding to the serenity. The gardens are securely fenced and maintained immaculately. We made good use of the braai facilities and the large clean swimming pool.

Inside, the lodge was equipped adequately with comfortable furnishings and clean, crisp linen. We made use of the cleaning and laundry facilities, which we found very reasonably priced.

Ray and Fiona were on hand to offer advice on things to see and places to go. We were invited to use the bar facilities in the main house and found both Ray & Fiona to be excellent hosts.

We look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

We have just spent an idyllic two weeks at Bellamanga in one of their lovely forest lodges.

The weather was good and we were able to sit and relax on the patio and watch the cows and horses go by and see the occasional bush buck.

Their forest lodges have a rustic charm, are clean and comfortable with everything that you could possibly need. The showers were the best we encountered throughout our trip in South Africa.

Their swimming pool is large and maintained to a very high standard every day and the grounds immaculate, it was 24 degrees the days we were swimming

We will certainly be back next year as Ray and Fiona were fantastic hosts and entertained us several nights with braais and homely cooking.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bella Manga Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Manga Country House

Address: PO Box176 | Uplands, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Manga Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at this safe and peaceful piece of heaven in the Garden Route. Just 8 minutes drive from a Jeep or horse-back safari at Plettenberg Bay Game Reserve or a mere 15 minutes drive to Plett's sandy beaches, restaurants and tourist attractions. Our accomodation holds something for every pocket with our thatched en-suite African rondavels, garden rooms or suites and Colonial Rooms in the Manorhouse Three self-catering forest lodges in their landscaped gardens with large pool are the ideal getaway for family or friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bella Manga Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Manga Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.