We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Emily Moon River Lodge

Save Saved
You added Emily Moon River Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Emily Moon River Lodge
P.O. Box 1936, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
North Yorkshire England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

Amazing location, lovely rooms, comfortable bed and good bathrooms. Very warm welcome. So peaceful sitting on veranda over looking the river. Simon was very helpful sorting out the best things to do. We loved the Birds of Eden, also Simon let us sit in garden to watch the Sunbirds which he feeds. Enjoyed a canoing trip up the river. Breakfast was excellent.
Food at dinner was excellent, the restaurant does get very busy and can be noisy if you are sitting by a large party. The setting was wonderful and we think just go to eat early, you are more likely to get a good table.
Simon also suggested a wonderful cafe Chameleon on our way at Humansdorp and that we should visit Storms River, even printed us a map, he was so helpful.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    164
    23
    7
    2
    5
See reviews for
33
135
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

Stayed over one night mid January and enjoyed our stay including the dining experience. Our lodge was tastefully decorated with a balcony with a great view. One small incident late afternoon let the service aspect down. We were lounging by the pool late afternoon just after we arrived and I asked a passing male member of staff if he could lower one of the large brolleys above the sun loungers - this he did without hesitation but on making his way into the restaurant my wife overheard his manager (the restaurant manager as it turned out) making a disparaging remark about the lodge guests "wanting brolleys up, wanting brolleys down" I later learned that the lodges are owned by one entity and the restaurant owned by another which perhaps explains the matter - however dissappointing from a service aspect as a resident is not interested in who owns what and from Emily Moon's perspective these things should be "joined up".

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

Emily Moon is a very attractive-looking place in a fantastic position overlooking the Bitou River. The individual cottages are first-class in layout and views and Diane and Simon who run the place are most hospitable, helpful and full of local information. Our stay was spoilt on the first night by three incidents of bats. The problem was remedied when reported the next day but should have been dealt with before our arrival, as there were tell-tale signs of bat droppings on the bathroom floor. The restaurant was so busy (particularly with local regulars), that the staff were rushed off their feet and did not have time for niceties. The menu did not change much during our three-night stay. However, the food was good and well-presented. The breakfast was excellent and more relaxed and friendly than the evening restaurant. There is plenty to see and do in the area, enough for far more than we had time for in our short day.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

This was another wow! We loved Emily Moon. Fantasic view from our room, there was an amazing view from the bath too! Couldn’t fault this place at all.
We were looked after so well from the start, lunch in the very popular restaurant overlooking the Bitou River & a table reserved for dinner each night for us. So much to do from here . Dinner there each night was great, staff very friendly and the owners would talk to us over breakfast to help us decide where to go and what to do that day.
Great fun going out on the hotels canoes along the Bitou. The car was washed each day for us which was a great treat. There was always someone around if we needed to ask anything and plenty of other guests around to have a conversation with. We experienced much more that we would have probably missed if not for them pointing us in the right direction. Highlight was our trek in Robberg Nature Reserve
We were only here 2 nights and so wished we were staying longer.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

Following extensive research into our choice of accommodation on our recent trip to SA we were disappointed with our 2 night stay at Emily Moon. It does have fantastic reviews. We had had rather a long hot tiring drive to get there and we were met with a rather frosty reception girl who didn't smile or welcome us in any way. It was straight down to basics of pushing a registration form across the desk. We were then shown our parking for the room we were in was accessed off from the main car parking area and was definitely not a pretty area, old storage buildings and the industrial part of the place etc. The view was an old shed with a big window showing an old mattress up against the wall and other disused equipment. Overall not a good start! First impressions count! The room was beautiful however with wonderful views, well designed as not overlooked.
The food in the restaurant was excellent but it is obviously the "in" place to dine with the locals. I felt this place is all about the restaurant which was very busy and staff could not chat, again it was down to the basics of communication:- Wine? Food? Dessert? Goodnight. Busy dining can give a place a good vibe when managed well but I felt the manager was just a little too stressed and rushed. We were sat at the same table for both nights and the tables with the best views seemed to be reserved for locals.
The final straw was trying to have a peaceful breakfast with a wonderful view and having the manager/owner calling and confirming all the bookings for the restaurant that night in a very loud voice which went on for some time. I did not think this was appropriate or fair and greatly misses the point. We left feeling we really should have felt priviledged to have been allowed to stay at Emily Moon.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for one night following an awful night at Milkwood Manor.
We turned up with desperate please and the wonderful staff at Emily Moon made a plan for us. Magically the lovely owners sorted out the best villa for us... and at a fraction of the cost, because we were distressed honeymooners. Our room was amazing, very spacious with underfloor heating in the bathroom ( you can look onto the river while you shower!) There was an open fire and lots of little luxuries. The food is great and the restaurant is really vibey with open fires and cool decor outside. This place is really fabulous, and we loved our stay, wish we had found it sooner and not had to endure a terrible night elsewhere!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford UK
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2009

Emily Moon was recommended to us, and it exceeded our hopes and expectations.
Diane and Simon were the most charming hosts, full of local knowledge and advice which we were able to successfully utilise.
The "room" we had was in fact a "suite" with total privacy, the highlight of which would have been the fantastic outdoor shower offering wonderful views over the valley, if the weather had allowed us to use it!!
The restaurant was fully booked on both evenings we were there, & it was not difficult to see why as both food and staff were delightful.
If you should go canoeing in the river by the Lodge, make sure you go with someone who knows what they are doing!!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Emily Moon River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emily Moon River Lodge

Address: P.O. Box 1936, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 48 Specialty lodging in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where luxury and peace are to be found in a sweeping river valley. Where the views encompass a wetland, winding river and distant mountains and where the call of the Fish Eagle will forever remind you of the vast skies of Africa. Embracing the southern bank of the Bitou River in Plettenberg Bay, Emily Moon River Lodge is a small, exclusive lodge with accommodation for just 24 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Emily Moon River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emily Moon River Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emily Moon River Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.