We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff, Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bayview Hotel

Bayview Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bayview Hotel to your Saves list
Bayview Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr. Main & Gibb Street | P.O. Box 1047, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff, Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

I only stayed here one night as I was headed back to Cape Town. This hotel has really nice staff and the manager Amanda couldn't have gone out of her way MORE to make me feel at home. Being there in winter, it was very quiet. the location is right on the main street and Amanda recommended a great restaurant for me to go to that night. She even allowed me to tour the penthouse suite and I stayed up there all morning taking photos. If you are looking for a clean hotel,walking distance to the shops, personable staff, then stay here. Please hug Amanda for me, too. She's awesome.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    17
    14
    1
    6
See reviews for
5
22
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Not having been to Plett for 30 years and not knowing what to expect, I chose to spend the last two days of our 5 day Plett holiday at this hotel in the main road of the town.
We were not unhappy there and essentially it was good value and it wouldnt be fair to compare it to where we stayed the 1st three days.
On its own merits the hotel is well positioned in the village/town - but if you are in Plett, aside from some restaurants - you arent really going to want to be in the town.
There are partial sea views from some rooms - so in this sense the website is a little misleading. Dont expect a sea view and you wont be disappointed.
The rooms are large and comfortable - as for sattelite tv. Forget that - one MNet channel was all they offered so if you have kids and expect more - check first.
The staff are friendly and we were comfortable but wouldnt pay a premium for the hotel if we were to consider returning.

Room Tip: Dont expect full sea view rooms, and some rooms will look directly into/onto other buildings in town...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

I recently spent a 4-day weekend in Plett and Knysna and based myself at the Bayview in Plett.

The rooms were very nice, clean and serviced daily with fresh towels. The staff were very friendly and full of local knowledge - restaurants, activities etc...also generous with discount vouchers for local activities and some reatuarants.

The daily breakfast was good value and the eggs were the best i had in Plett and Knysna.

I look forward to my next stay at the Bayview.

Room Tip: Room 306 is quiet and spacious with a great cool breeze
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

The Bayview Hotel is right in the heart of Plettenberg Bay, within walking distance of the restaurants, bars and beach. It is the ideal spot to base yourself for either a short stay or a family summer holiday. Rooms are spacious and clean and staff are very helpful!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Close to all the shops and eateries so you don't have to walk too far for anything, but also has a nice view of the sea. Near enough to go for a run on the beach. Tidy with friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms were clean and comfy.
Conveniently located near all amenities on the Main rd.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swellendam, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

we had a wonderful stay at the bayview hotel in plettendberg bay.
The hotel is newly renovated ( in 2011) and has a wonderful atmosphere. The location is excellent, near the shops and on top of a quaint shopping center with lovely shops.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bayview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel

Address: Cnr. Main & Gibb Street | P.O. Box 1047, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Bayview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.