We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphins' Playground Beachfront B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plettenberg Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dolphins' Playground Beachfront B & B
3 Tillamook Ave, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 73 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Lancing, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

A big thank you to Pam Mears. We booked the Dolphin room which was lovely, welcome drink, superb breakfast and a super location just off the beach. Plett is truly wonderful wish we could have stayed longer. Had a super meal at the lookout which Pam recommended. Hope to go back again someday.

Room Tip: You must go to Plettenburg and stay with Pam.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
47
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed recently for 4 nights in the lovely comfortable Seahorse Room. Breakfasts were beautiful and served by two lovely ladies on the terrace overlooking the ocean-bliss! Pam, the owner, a lovely lady
was a wonderfully warm host and offered good advice re things to do,restaurants etc. She will even make reservations for you.
All in all, we were welcomed into Pam's lovely home and had a thoroughly nice stay. Would definitely recommend. Thank you Pam
Jean & Robert
P.s. Agree with all other positive reviews

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munster, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Hundreds of dolphins in the bay! And we see them all from the terrace of this nice B&B.
Lovely decorated rooms, good breakfast and a warm service.
We stay two nights in seahorse room and we feel very comfortabel.
Daggi + Uwe, Germany

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotia, SP
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Located near the beach (2-3 minutes walking), its has just a few rooms, all of them very well decorated, spacious and clean. The room we booked didnt have aircon, but the fan did the job. Also, there is no fridge inside the room, but they one you can shre with other guests.The owner Pam is very friendly and will give you hints about what to do and where to go. They have space for parking car, but there is no gate for them. In any case, we felt very safe in our stay at the city. A very complete breakfast is served at a deck located at the upper level, where you can see the sea and, with some lucky, maybe dolphins and whales. If you have plans for dinning at one of the restaurants the city has, you will need transportation because they are not in walking distance. If you have plans for a nice beach holiday, this is your place!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed at the Dolphins Playground for 3 nights in November during our tour of the Western Cape. The house is in a fantastic position overlooking the ocean, minutes from the beach and a short drive from the town centre. We stayed in the Seahorse room which was large with a good size en-suite and very comfortable. The room opened up onto a massive deck area, which is what gives the property it's unique character. It's a perfect place to relax and take in the views of the sea and Robberg peninsular, and if you're lucky, enjoy breakfast every morning. We did, and we were also lucky enough to see the dolphins playing in the surf whilst we were tucking in. However, what made our stay so special was the warmth and friendliness shown to us by the host Pam and her staff. Pams little extra touches separate this from the run of the mill hotel or guest house. Drinks on arrival and on return after a day sight seeing or walking, an offer a laundry service for longer stay guests and invaluable tips on local attractions and eating out. Pam has a genuine interest in her guests and always has time for a chat to see how the day went. If you want to stay in a quiet location near a beautiful beach with fantastic views and a delightful host, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

What a simply gorgeous place this is! You have to climb up a few stairs to get to the front door, but the compensation you get for this in terms of ocean views is simply amazing. We were three couples, to stay in three rooms that all gave out to a wonderful common terrace with a waw view of the ocean. For us it was a bit windy to have breakfast on the terrace, but we can imagine that in summer this must be heaven.
Great and most friendly hosts who made us feel 'at home' immediately.
Comfortable though not really spacious rooms with all necessary amenities. Free WIFI !
Getting to sleep at the beachfront with the brushing sound of the waves in the background is ... paradise.

We would highly recommend this place to anyone visiting Plettenbergbaai.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We spent three lovely nights at Dolphin's playground. We were greeted by Pam with a glass of cold beer after our long journey. She took us upstairs and the view of the ocean just hits you... This was just what we were looking for.... Somewhere you can fall asleep, listening to the roar of the waves.

The room was nice and big, as was the bathroom, the sundeck was where breakfast is served (weather permitting,) so you can take in the view. Pam even does nice little touches like adding your countries flag. There's also an honesty bar incase you run out of bevvies!

Throughout our stay, Pam really couldn't do enough for us, whether it was recommending activities, places to eat, offering to book taxis - what a gem of a lady.

The weather started to turn when we were there, hence a few of us around the indoor table, but regardless, we loved our time in this sanctuary. :)

Sas and Karsten (U.K & N.L)

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view, though ours (The Dolphin room) is more side on, but you only need to step...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dolphins' Playground Beachfront B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphins' Playground Beachfront B & B

Address: 3 Tillamook Ave, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolphin's Playground offers you luxury beachfront bed & breakfast accommodation, situated in Plettenberg bay, on the most beautiful beach in the Garden Route. Rooms offer beautiful sea and mountain views and it is a 50 meter walk to Robberg Beach. Close to Knysna and all the tourist attractions. Reward yourself with a fantastic holiday - make your booking in Plettenberg bay today! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphins' Playground Beachfront B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dolphins' Playground Beachfront B & B to your Saves list