We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best if you're the owner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Cross Beach House

Save Saved
You added Southern Cross Beach House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Southern Cross Beach House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   1 Capricorn Lane | Solar Beach, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 73 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best if you're the owner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This place is very well located above the beach of Plettenberg Bay, with friendly staff and convenient central kitchen services for general use during the day.
However, no rooms have sea views, unless you are the owner, whose rooms do.
The pool is only for the use of the owner, too.
So while it's very good, it's not quite as good as it could be.....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    21
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
33
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Godalming, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

What a wonderful location! The B&B is beautifully decorated and very comfortable. We wanted to just stay there and look at the view of the ocean. Edward, the Manager, and his staff were extremely helpful and kind and made our final days in South Africa very special.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed at this guest house for 4 nights in January this year. It is in a lovely location overlooking the ocean with the sound of waves crashing on to the beach and (if you're lucky - we were) the sight of dolphins in the Bay. Apart from the location it is the staff that make this place so special: Ed is an exceptional manager (even organising my washing to go to the laundry) and the ladies who do breakfasts and the rooms are so nice and so helpful. However in a modern age there are a few things t take into consideration: there is no air conditioning, no fridge in the room and limited space in the kitchen fridge. On one hand this is a refreshing change from modern identi-kit hotels but on the other on hot steamy nights it is hard to sleep. Also whilst we had the king size room which was spacious and comfortable, other guess commented that their rooms were small. Garden furniture was also a little tight as the space overlooking the sea is confined. However I don't think that I have ever been welcomed in and waved goodbye by such a nice team of people.

Room Tip: Try to get the King size room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at Souther Cross Beach House for 1 Night during December. What a lovely place! Usually what you see on the websites of Hotels and Guest Houses aren't the same, but at Southern Cross it was way better.

The rooms are lovely & clean, and so beautifully decorated. The views from the garden is amazing and the breakfast fantastic! Thanks to Ed and the rest of the staff that made us feel so welcome.

I would highly recommend Southern Cross to anyone, so peaceful and ofcourse the service with a smile.

We will be back soon!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We really enjoyed the 3 nights in the beautifully decorated room and the relaxing ambience of this guest house. Situated directly above the beach it is perfect for beach walks (Robberg beach) or for just enjyoying the beatiful view. The friendliness and the great hospitality make you feel at home from the first minute.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paarl
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at Southern Cross. Ed was fantastic with his personalized service. A very tastefully decorated room, all in cream and white were cramped. It may be because it was the smallest room they have available. On booking ensure you check on the availability of the larger room if space is your requirement.On request on our last night Ed did move us to one of the bigger rooms which was well apportioned. The ambiance of the guest house was really lovely and the setting for breakfast really exceptional with the view over the sea. A frustrating problem with Southern Cross is how noisy the rooms are, when any of the guests have a shower early in the morning, you awake from the sound of the running water through the plumbing system. Balu, the owners dog who wanted to be let outside early, also woke us up. No rest for the wicked. the main house, which is on the level above the guest house, will wake you up when they are moving around as the floors are wooden and creaky. On a positive side the breakfast is scrumptious and they make the best omelette I ever had.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We spent a night at Southern Cross and wished it could have been longer. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel at home .Edward ,who is a star,checked us in to our beautiful spacious en-suite bedroom. Thereafter we enjoyed a long walk along Robberg beach just below the guest house , viewing dolphins and a whale close to the shore. Spectacular views from the front patio of the bay and distant Tsitsikamma mountains .We had a fantastic hearty breakfast on the deck with brilliant service the following morning
We will definitely recommend this establishment to others and hope to return again soon. It was my wifes 50th birthday and a chocolate cake was produced with a candle after breakfast with all the staff singing happy birthday .What a brilliant touch .Much appreciated and well done Sue ,our host, on your great establishment. I can only sing praises for Southern Cross .Good luck

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Southern Cross Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Cross Beach House

Address: 1 Capricorn Lane | Solar Beach, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Cross Beach House 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Southern Cross Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Cross Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.