We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Singing Kettle Beach Lodge & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Singing Kettle Beach Lodge & Restaurant to your Saves list
Singing Kettle Beach Lodge & Restaurant
Keurboomstrand, Plettenberg Bay, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 73 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“We will return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Travel Exclusively African arranged our self drive 5 week tour of Western Cape and Singing Kettle is a great example of the brilliant accommodation they organised for us. Approximately 10 minute drive from Plettenberg itself but I felt this was a bonus. We had room 6 which is large end room and could easily accommodate a family with a large comfortable bed and 2 settees that could be made up into beds. There is a small but very adequate kitchen area which is well equipped with everything you could need. The fruit juice and basket of fresh fruit every morning was very welcome. The veranda is large and great to sit out on watching people on the beach, dolphins swimming past and wonderful sunset. So comfortable that we decided one night to pick up Pizza from Enrico's restaurant downstairs and just sit and watch the sun go down from our balcony. We found Plettenberg and surrounding area had plenty to do and the 5 days here absolutely flew past. Would highly recommend this accommodation to anyone and will definitely return. Could very easily spend a 2 week holiday here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
25
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed here with friends for three nights. Rooms are spacious with ceiling fans and decorated in a beach theme of blues and white. Very well kept up and beautifully clean. Breakfast is in the fridge, muesli, fruit, milk and yoghurt, so you can have it whenever you feel like it , in bed if you want! There is a toaster if you want to supplement with your own supplies. Best thing is the fabulous view. I was concerned that there would be noise from the restaurant downstairs but the sound of the sea is so loud that it drowns out any other noise and we didn't hear a thing. We had a couple of extremely nice and well priced meals on the restaurant terrace, its nothing fancy, tables and benches but the food is good and well cooked with excellent fish, very large portions though. The beach is below your balcony down a few steps from the wooden boardwalk. Beach chairs and sun shade supplied by the hotel. Was a lovely place to stay, Knysna and Plettenburg are a short trip away.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5 which was on the corner, spacious and good position.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This was our second stay at the Singing Kettle. After our visit two years ago for a couple of nights, we decided to stay longer this year. There are only six rooms above an Italian restaurant, Enrico's, with wonderful views of the sea. It was great going to sleep to the sound of the waves.

Breakfast is muesli and fruit, provided fresh each day. We used the bbq on the large balcony at the back once, but mainly ate out at various restaurants in the area, as well as Enrico's. The food there is good; I particularly liked the veal dishes.

We really liked Keurboomstrand as it is quite small and peaceful most days. We walked every morning on the beach and along a path recently completed beside the road. The beaches are excellent and we spend some time each day enjoying them. An umbrella, small chairs and beach towels are provided. There is a shopping centre on the outskirts of Plettenberg Bay, about 10 minutes car journey from the Singing Kettle, for all provisions required. To our absolute delight, we were fortunate enough to see dolphins nearly every day of our stay. Some days they would just cruise by, but on others, they would surf the waves - a wonderful sight.

Previously we had stayed in room 5 but decided to book room 1 this time as it is larger and has a bath. I prefer room 5 because room 1 is situated over an area of the restaurant below where large family groups and smokers gather near/on the grassy area and can be quite noisy some evenings - Fridays and Saturdays in particular.

We look forward to returning to this lovely beach lodge.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Nice, clean rooms with all comfort you need. Fantastic view and good starting point for your beach walk. The sundown is great and lunch or dinner in downstairs restaurant Enrico is very enjoyable, (friendly waiters and great wines).

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We were lucky to have a huge room during our 3 night stay with an amazing deck. The room had everything you could hope for. It was lovely to be off the beaten track and not right in Plettenberg...The view was amazing and the room was very clean. Our only caveat is it that with the very popular restaurant right below, it can be noisy..if you had small children, this may not be the space to stay as there was a band on two of the nights we were here...we loved the band but it may be a problem if you are looking for peace and quiet...We were also underwelmed by the food at the restaurant (not part of the hotel) but we would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed here overnight on our way to Port Elizabeth - we wished we could have stayed longer. The hotel was at the end of the road, above a resturant and overlooking a quite sandy bay. The view from our room was wonderful. It was clean, spacious, modern and peaceful.
It was part of a personalised tour put together by Travel Exclusively African - a great package.

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We decided to stay over in Keurbooms after attending our monthly Skal meeting and lunch at Enrico's restaurant. A last minute decision that has us wanting to spend more time in this well run, friendly and beautifully laid out Lodge. OUr rooms where spacious, very clean and the view couldn't have been better - literally on the waters edge. The sound of the sea crashing against the rocks lulled us to sleep - a great relaxing experience we will not wait long to experience again.

Room Tip: all the rooms are good but a couple are a little larger with huge terraces, get one of these!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Singing Kettle Beach Lodge & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singing Kettle Beach Lodge & Restaurant

Address: Keurboomstrand, Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Singing Kettle Beach Lodge & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Singing Kettle Beach Lodge & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.