We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Watch Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plettenberg Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean Watch Guest House
Save
You added Ocean Watch Guest House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   21 Plettenberg Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 73 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommend!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Excellent all round - very good position - Judy and Glenn are excellent hosts - we will hopefully return soon......... Staff were very helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble.Would highly recommend to all.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    6
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
52
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Our first trip to South Africa and found this a delightful stop. We had 2 days with Glen and Judy who were perfect hosts - nothing was too much trouble. The house is lovely, full of interesting bits and pieces and we were made to feel very much at home. .The view from our terrace was stunning - even in the torrential rain! Our friend even had great views from his bath!
Location was fine - short walk into main streets and only a couple of minutes in the car down to the beach. Would highly recommend this as a stop on the Garden Route.It is not a 5* hotel, but it is a superb B&B

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

The perfect place to relax from a trip on garden route. The view from the terrace was overwhelming. We had a very nice and comfortable room. The breakfast was fantastic and we enjoyed the wonderful hospitality of Judy and Glenn. Judy is the master of a tasteful decoration! The location is perfect, a 10 minutes walk to the gorgeous beach and 5 minutes to main street.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

We were disappointed with our stay at this guest house. From their website the place looked lovely, and although it was more expensive than we would have liked to have paid, we decided to book it as it looked so nice. When we arrived Glen and Judy were very friendly and welcoming and we had lovely views from our window. We expected to be closer to the sea and were a little suprised that we were further away than we thought. However, we thought we would have a lovely stay. After returning from dinner we found that our room had cockroaches! Having never visited Plettenberg Bay before I'm not sure whether this is the norm with a place like that, but it made for a very unsettled night indeed! We would not return to this guest house.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 1 night, an extremely clean place with a fantastic view of the bay, lovely breakfast friendly owners, though we only met the housekeeper on evening of arrival.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Ocean Watch is an attractive guest house set in a great location in Plett. The views are fantastic overlooking the bay to the east, with the main street and beaches only a short stroll away. We stayed in the Shell room which was spacious and had great views of the bay. Glenn & Judy were very friendly and welcoming as hosts and their staff made a scrumptious breakfast! However, we did feel that it was quite expensive compared to other B&B's we had stayed in on our South Africa trip...though Plett does seem to be generally more expensive than less touristy areas. The only minor negatives were that some aspects could do with updating e.g. having a full shower in the room instead of a bath and handheld shower, but overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would happily recommend this place to friends and family.

Room Tip: Shell room had a great view...but so did the terrace outside the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Ocean View is well placed in Plettenburg Bay a short walk from the town and beach and with spectacular views eastwards across the bay. A well designed spacious house the rooms on the upper floor are especially good with a terrace on which to enjoy the view, breeze, sun and the odd bottle of good South African wine. A very small plunge pool in the garden. Breakfasts are well supplied with everything you might want to choose. But ..... some things are beginning to show signs of wear and tear and should be repaired, replaced, refurbished. An example - the sun shade parasol on the terrace was broken and had obviously been in that state for some time. The owners need to pay more attention. They live off site. Whilst we were there some other guests arrived just after 6.00pm having been delayed on the road from Cape Town. The owners had gone for the night, no-one to let them in and check them in. We opened the door, they phoned and the owners came round saying with a laugh how lucky they were to catch them as they were just on their way out. And breakfast becomes a bit of a production with the hostess floating around in her finery introducing all the guests to each other while her staff do all the work. So - good, but could be better.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Watch Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Watch Guest House

Address: 21 Plettenberg Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Watch Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Watch Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.