We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Milkwood Manor on Sea is 200% perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Milkwood Manor on Sea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Milkwood Manor on Sea to your Saves list
Milkwood Manor on Sea
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Salmack Road | Plettenberg Bay, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 79 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
“Milkwood Manor on Sea is 200% perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This place is truly a "little bit of heaven".
Everything and everybody treated us like VIP guests, and it is one of the best trips we have done it years.

Everybody should be so lucky to spend some time here

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    98
    20
    5
    2
See reviews for
67
380
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire U.K.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a 3 night stay here in March15 and really enjoyed the property and location.
The staff were most helpful, and the owner Kees came round at breakfast to see if he could offer help with our days itinerary. The attached Lemon grass restaurant served good quality meals and great breakfasts.
Guests received a complimentary car wash every morning which was a nice touch.
We had a lagoon facing ground floor room which was large except the bathroom which was a little on the small size. And for the price we paid, this was our most expensive accommodation on the Garden Route, there was no refrigerator in the room. These are only small points to note we would still recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain ...... but Scottish
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Location was wonderful for beach, lagoon and more distant, sea views however a bit far for us to walk into the town centre. However a taxi was inexpensive and booked by the receptionist for us.
Our room on the upper floor was across a small outdoor terrace and had a large wrap round corner balcony with sun loungers, a table and two chairs with umbrella. Bed was comfortable. No air con but we opened the windows and let the sea breezes waft in so not an issue.
The only accommodation that didn't have a fridge but they provide a cold box and ice packs are available from the bar.
Gated car park by front entrance and your car is washed every morning - a nice touch!
Breakfast was part buffet, part to order.
Restaurant ( The Lemon Grass) is operated a by separate company for lunch and in the evening and is EXCELLENT! I had the BEST tuna steak ever! So good I had it twice! But remember to book a table in advance! Service and ambience were excellent too!

Room Tip: Ours (12 from memory) had a wonderful wrap round terrace which got the sun all day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Ailmarsh,

Thanks for the great review!
We enjoyed having you with us as much as you enjoyed being here.

Hope to see you back soon.

Kind regards,
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A unique setting with comfortable & spacious rooms, friendly & knowledgeable owner & staff offering good food and advice. A virtual Oasis on the beach between sea, dunes and lagoon and yet it is linked directly to town with its many attractions.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear 71rdh,

Thank for the review!
We too wish that you could stay longer - especially seeing that there is so much to do around here, if you can tear yourself away from the golden beach.
but there's always a next time, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Until then,
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Meath, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

Stayed 2 nights at Milkwood Manor in March '15. Location overlooking Plett Bay and the beach was great, with direct access from the Hotel to the expansive beach.
Rooms are lean & elegant. Food - both breakfast & dinner is top class & there is also a great restuarant a short walk along the beach.
Staff helpful and owner comes round at breakfast offering suggestions on things to do and places to go in the area

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Seán M,

We are so please to hear that you had a good experience at Milkwood Manor on Sea, and thank you for posting a review.

We hope that you soon return to us.

Kind regards,
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

I did'nt want to leave......superb location- lovely to step right onto the beach. The Look Out Deck and Restaurant is also easily accessible and I hear that the Lemo Grass restaurant is very good - breakfast here was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you Rosemary J,

We appreciate that you took the time to write a review of Milkwood Manor and we are thrilled to hear that you had a good time visiting us.

Remember to visit us again when next you are traveling on the Garden Route.
Until then the golden Lookout Beach awaits your footprints.

Kind regards,
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honiton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

An almost perfect stay was provided by the staff and the facilities of the hotel. Its location by the beach and lagoon is a winner. The rooms are spacious, and many have balconies. The breakfast on the patio was both scrumptious and a delight with its view.

Room Tip: Beach or lagoon views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear JemSWEngland,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your experience at Milkwood Manor on Sea.
Although fairly large Milkwood Manor is a guesthouse and not a hotel, that is why we are able to concentrate more on the needs of our guests than large chain establishments are able too.

We are glad that you had a great time with us. we would love to have you come visit again in the near future, so let us know to secure your booking.

Looking forward to your return,
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Milkwood Manor on Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milkwood Manor on Sea

Address: Salmack Road | Plettenberg Bay, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Milkwood Manor on Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location: The most enviable location on the Garden Route. At the end of a quiet cul-de-sac, jutting into the ocean - any closer and you would be in it! - as well as the estuary of a large lagoon- no neighbours but nature! Exquisite, unimpeded 180 views (360 from the roof deck) of the vast blue ocean, golden beaches, large lagoon and the imposing Tsitsikamma Mountain Range. Nature all'round, yet not isolated, but only a 2-minute drive from the town centre and its trendy shops.A pristine beach: accessible from the sheltered cove adjacent to the Manor - ideal for swimming in natural water – you may boat across to an unspoiled and usually deserted beach, far from built-up areas, traffic, crowds and noise. Blissful solitude and a complete immersion in nature, with only the sound of white-crested surf tumbling at one’s feet and the calls of a medley of seabirds – a veritable bird sanctuary. Becalming and rejuvenating - the perfect antidote for stress,. With luck you may even find the mysterious and sought-after pansy shell (sand dollar).The Manor: built in classic Georgian style, with an airy double-volume foyer and eleven double bedrooms, most with private patio or balcony. All rooms are decorated in crisp white and en-suite to a shower cubicle with/without bath, and a queen bed or twin beds, TV-hospitality package, free uncapped Wi-Fi, tea/coffee making facilities, safe, fan, heater and hairdryer. The sash windows allow the fresh ocean air straight in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Milkwood Manor on Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milkwood Manor Guest House Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milkwood Manor on Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.