We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvelous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Milkwood Manor on Sea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Milkwood Manor on Sea to your Saves list
Milkwood Manor on Sea
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Salmack Road | Plettenberg Bay, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 78 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cadillac, MI
Level Contributor
85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Marvelous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This hotel is truly a gem! Breathtaking views of the Indian Ocean, wonderful accommodations and a very friendly staff. A true five star experience. Kees the owner greats you at morning breakfast and helps with information to make days adventures special.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you so very much for your kind review. We hope to welcome you back to Milkwood Manor again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    98
    21
    5
    2
See reviews for
67
382
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights and whilst I agree with other reviewers that the hotel commands an amazing position I did find that other aspects of the hotel were a bit of a letdown.

We arrived on a cold rainy day and were greeted by a receptionist that seemed frustrated that he had to finish his phone conversation to acknowledge us. However the owner and restaurant staff were friendly.

The rooms we had booked commanded amazing 360 degree views but were freezing as the wooden sash windows had gaps all around them. We put on the electric radiator that didn't really pump out much heat and finally resorted to jumping under the duvet to warm up. The rest of the hotel and restaurant were also cold and I was glad we weren't staying in Winter!

The bathrooms could do with being re-painted as they had flaking paint and the shower took 10 mins YES 10 mins to warm up. I was conscious that all the signs in other African hotels had said to conserve water and here we were literally running it down the plughole.

Breakfasts and Dinner at the famed Lemon Tree were mediocre compared to the magnificent food we had eaten at all other hotels we had stayed at on The Garden Route and this was a great disappointment. Fatty greasy bacon and tiny pork sausages and the French Toast for breakfast was not acceptable and on our second morning we didn't bother with breakfast here and ate at another establishment.

So if you are looking purely for stunning views and a great base for the surrounding activities then Milkwood Manor is a great hotel to book but if like me you expect a 4 star hotel to have a certain standard of interior then the room standard may be a letdown.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milkwoodmanorplett, Owner at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your review, we apologize that you did receive a good first impression of Milkwood Manor. Our afternoon receptionist is usually very friendly and welcoming. However, we appreciate your feedback and will use it to continually improve your service and product at Milkwood Manor.

It is never pleasant to arrive at a holiday destination in bad weather, especially when it is unseasonable. In the winter months, our restaurant's two fireplaces are lit to create a warm and cozy atmosphere.

Every June and July, during our low season, all the painting is effected - as required. This is the most practical time for this type of maintenance, as fresh paint is not the most pleasant smell.

We share your concern for water wastage and have recently installed 5 rain water tanks. The six electrical geysers on the roof will soon be supplimented with hot water ring-mains which will prevent future wastage.

Our breakfasts have been augmented with dishes such as smoked salmon. And we hope to surprise if you choose to stay at Milkwood Manor in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay at Milkwood manor. Very family friendly and we got lots of advice on family outings in the area. The kids loved the canoes, breakfasts and having their own room! The dinner at the restaurant is also highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are so glad that your family enjoyed their stay and that the children got to enjoy all the best of Plett! We hope to welcome you all again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed three nights and enjoyed a spacious, comfortable and quiet room on the top level overlooking the lagoon. The rooms are stylish and clean. The staff were very helpful, polite and friendly, making every effort to make our stay enjoyable. The food was delicious! Kaas gives the extra personal touch by greeting every guest at breakfast and helping them to plan and enjoy the wonderful activities and experiences that Plettenberg and its surroundings have to offer. The stars on the rooftop at night are breathtaking!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and everything that Milkwood Manor and Plettenberg Bay have to offer. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Recently spent 4 nights here as we were attending a wedding . What a wonderful place .the rooms were nicely furnished with lovely views across the lagoon . The breakfast was delicious taken on the terrace with the most sensational sea and mountain views The daily car wash was a bonus too !! A lovely place to stay in Plett

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you so very much for your kind review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Milkwood Manor. We hope to welcome you back to the Manor again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for only one night but would have loved to have stayed for much longer. Our rooms overlooked the beach and were large and airy with the most fantastic views. Waking up in the morning with the sun rising over the mountains and sea was simply perfect. I couldn't stop just staring out to sea from my room and from our balcony. Being out of season but still warm meant less people too. Breakfast was taken outside with a view of the beach and at low tide you can take a canoe and enjoy the inlet. Dinner was taken at the restaurant and was our best evening meal throughout our 18 day trip across imbabwe and Port Elizabeth to Cape Town. The 3 fillets were simply delicious and cooked to perfection. Starters were also amazing and we enjoyed the Neil Ellis wines too. Thank you Milkwood Manor, we really loved this place

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you so very much for your kind review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Milkwood Manor and the views! We hope that you will be able to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Unfortunately, we had only one night in Milkwood. We would have loved to avail of the canoes that Kees (the host) offered us to paddle around the creek, and there lovely walks in the area. Hopefully, another time!
We had a good-sized room and comfortable bed, with great sea views. I don" t know why they spoil the view with the bars on the windows?
We had lovely dinner and wine in their Lemongrass restaurant that evening. However, the highlight for us was the breakfast - eaten out on the sunny patio, with the waves crashing on the adjacent beach. Idyllic, we really enjoyed our stay here.
Finally, when we were leaving, we found that all the guests cars had been washed and polished. Brilliant. Our car was filthy, as we had been in Addo Elephant Park the previous day, and I really appreciated haing it cleaned for me.

Room Tip: We had a great sea view, but noticed that rooms on the right hand side also had a balcony, as well a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and we are sorry that you only had one night to enjoy Milkwood Manor and Lemongrass. The bars, unfortunately, are for your safety and that of your belongings. We hope that you you will be able to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Milkwood Manor on Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milkwood Manor on Sea

Address: Salmack Road | Plettenberg Bay, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Milkwood Manor on Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location: The most enviable location on the Garden Route. At the end of a quiet cul-de-sac, jutting into the ocean - any closer and you would be in it! - as well as the estuary of a large lagoon- no neighbours but nature! Exquisite, unimpeded 180 views (360 from the roof deck) of the vast blue ocean, golden beaches, large lagoon and the imposing Tsitsikamma Mountain Range. Nature all'round, yet not isolated, but only a 2-minute drive from the town centre and its trendy shops.A pristine beach: accessible from the sheltered cove adjacent to the Manor - ideal for swimming in natural water – you may boat across to an unspoiled and usually deserted beach, far from built-up areas, traffic, crowds and noise. Blissful solitude and a complete immersion in nature, with only the sound of white-crested surf tumbling at one’s feet and the calls of a medley of seabirds – a veritable bird sanctuary. Becalming and rejuvenating - the perfect antidote for stress,. With luck you may even find the mysterious and sought-after pansy shell (sand dollar).The Manor: built in classic Georgian style, with an airy double-volume foyer and eleven double bedrooms, most with private patio or balcony. All rooms are decorated in crisp white and en-suite to a shower cubicle with/without bath, and a queen bed or twin beds, TV-hospitality package, free uncapped Wi-Fi, tea/coffee making facilities, safe, fan, heater and hairdryer. The sash windows allow the fresh ocean air straight in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Milkwood Manor on Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milkwood Manor Guest House Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milkwood Manor on Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.