We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All mod cons with fabulous views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Periwinkle Guest Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Periwinkle Guest Lodge to your Saves list
Periwinkle Guest Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   75 Beachyhead Drive, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sheffield
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“All mod cons with fabulous views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

6 of us had rooms 1,2 and 4. These were on top floor with balconies you could sit 2 on overlooking the sea and the Robberg peninsula. We had room 4 which had no neighbouring rooms and the bathroom was slightly larger than the other 2 rooms. The guest house recommends it as a honeymoon room - unfortunately we are well past that! Free evening drinks at the lounge bar. The cooks made cakes and these were offered at about 3.30 - 4.00 each day. This was a really nice touch.There was also a complimentary bottle of wine on arrival. The guest house has a small gym and a dry sauna. Satellite TV, tea making, milk in a small fridge and safe were all in the rooms. Breakfast was excellent and cooked to order. The bread on offer had been freshly cooked in their kitchen The guest house is purpose built and really comfortable with good quality fittings and finishings. Having breakfast in the sun on the lounge balcony looking over the sea was a delight. There is free car parking on the site. The only 2 niggles we had were that the baths were very uncomfortable. They look great but have straight, vertical ends. The other niggle is that you have to climb a number of steps to get to the rooms - but a member of staff was there to help with our bags on arrival, but not on departure.

Room Tip: Room 4 has no neighbouring rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    29
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
19
103
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We were very impressed with this modern and stylish lodge. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room had a balcony overlooking the sea, you could lie in bed and listen to the waves. The breakfasts were good, juices, cereals etc. and full english cooked to order. The bathroom was very modern with two wash basins, bath and separate shower. The staff were happy to advise on local restaurants and things to do. The only downside is the amount of steps up to the room lugging suitcases as there are no lifts. We arrived quite late so there wasn't anyone to help us, was no problem getting help on check out. All in all would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Overpriced and very limited. On arrival my wife and I was the only guests and we requested to be moved to a room with a fire place which was on the same rate. The manager informed us that they expecting guests the next day and could not move us in to that room which we understood. We weren’t even offered to move in too any of the other rooms which had a fire place even if it was just for one night!

Breakfast was very limited even when the other guests arrived. We stayed for two nights and nothing in the room was topped up.

I definitely would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton on thames
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed at Periwinkle for 3 nights on our honeymoon and could not fault the guesthouse - it felt like a home away from home. The lodge is very stylish and modern with every detail thought of - warm fires, folders on local attractions, afternoon tea etc. Our room was very luxurious and all mod cons were available together with the beautiful view over the sea. The staff could not have been more helpful and were always on hand to help with bookings and made suggestions of trips or restaurants which were always spot on. The breakfast was delicious and there was always a great choice. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Periwinkle and would recommend to anyone visiting Pletternberg Bay.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Couldn't fault a thing! All the facilities of a 5 star hotel with friendly service. They have thought of everything, even ipad docking station in room and beach bag and towels in cupboards. The lodge and rooms are contemporary and we had the most stunning view of the beach from our balcony. Breakfast great and they served afternoon tea and home-made cake. Glad we were there for 3 nights on our journey through South Africa.

Room Tip: Only one room in the lodges doesn't have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rome
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

I should not share with everyone that periwinkle in plettenberg is an amazing palce to spend your vacation. When you live you are really sad and think I want to live here in this house.
perfect stay, great staff, very clean, beautiful beach in front of the house.
the place worth the trip to southafrika.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Periwinkle Guest Lodge in January 2012 together with two friends for a few days and we were absolutely delighted. They had thought about everything you would need as a guest. It was even a bag including two towels for the beach stored in the closet. The whole building was beautiful and the view breathtaking. A very generous breakfast was served and I just loved their homebaked bread. Appreciated the honestybar and free internet. I really hope I will be able to come back one day.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Periwinkle Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Periwinkle Guest Lodge

Address: 75 Beachyhead Drive, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Periwinkle Guest Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Periwinkle Lodge is an up-market guest lodge that is ideally situated with stunning ocean and mountain views. The Lodge offers en suite facilities all with their own balcony. The upstairs suites have private patio or balcony. Generous English or continental breakfast can be enjoyed in the dining room or on the Patio or balcony. Enjoy the warm ambiance that has been created to be the ultimate in hospitality, in an ocean-front mansion that lends itself to relaxation and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Periwinkle Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Periwinkle Guest Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Periwinkle Guest Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.