We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We just Love Fynbosridge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages to your Saves list
Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   look for brown road sign on N2 | 7km after Plett turnoff, heading to CPT from PE, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We just Love Fynbosridge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We love it so much at Fynbosridge, it feels like our holiday home in Plett!!
Well done Brian and Liz for creating this beautiful retreat! Fynbosridge is the 'hightlight' on our agenda during our travels.
From Rene and Mel from Port Elizabeth

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    12
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
62
68
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Our family stayed here for two nights and I wish we could have stayed longer. It's such a beautiful place and our cottage was amazing. The owners were very welcoming and the staff was also very friendly. Breakfast was delicious and the location is also just perfect, very close to both Knysna and Plett. I wouldn't hesitate to go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corbridge
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

What a stunning place. So close to the action in both Plettenberg and Kysna and yet so tranquil and peaceful. Our cottage was perfect for our family (2 adults and 2 children) with 2 good sized bedrooms and each with own bathroom. In between was a large lounge and well equipped kitchen. To the rear was a lovely terrace to relax, have a BBQ and take in the stunning view over the forest valley. The marked walks were great as was the pool and if you like animals there are plenty around to admire ( both wild and domestic!). And to cap it all, our hosts were tremendous serving great breakfasts and making us feel at home. And if you ask nicely Brian is a superb cook and serves great evening meals and we even had our roast lamb and trimmings brought to our cottage

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hindhead, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

....we could have stayed longer. Great location, great rooms, fanastic views, really, really beautiful place. Ideally located for Plet and Knysna, pool a bit small, but superb location for sundowners. Absolutely recommed it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

It was only by chance that we found this place (flight from PE to CT was cancelled so we had to drive it ) and all I can say is that this is beautiful - tucked away just outside Plett on a nature reserve - peace, tranquility and a top notch stay from us - just a pity we couldn't stay longer but we'll be back for our trip along the garden route

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grahamstown, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

What a wonderful setting, and wonderful friendly, humane, first rate service. We only stayed 1 night, but I can see why people stay a full week or longer. Away from Plett's busier pace, but only 10 minutes drive if you want the big town. Pool with (great) view, huge rooms, eye for detail, gorgeous aesthetic in every room, world class indigenous gardens, talking-point pet pig, best breakfast we've had in many years of travel on SA's roads.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, UK
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
219 helpful votes 219 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights as part of a tour round SA. Our cottage was just gorgeous, with every last detail though through carefully to make sure you have the most pleasant stay. The dinig here in the evening was excellent, with an honesty bar making you feel like you were really at home. The setting is positively bucolic, with gorgeous plantings and water features. The swimming pool is tucked away in a hidden niche and was a great place to cool down and watch the birds skimming overhead. This was real luxury but without any snob ones or pretension, just good, friendly, quality service.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages

Address: look for brown road sign on N2 | 7km after Plett turnoff, heading to CPT from PE, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fragrant Fynbos. Spectacular mountain views. Abundant birdlife. Relax and unwind. We invite you to experience our magnificent Private Nature Reserve. Choose between a luxurious suite in the gracious Cape-style Manor House or a spacious, secluded self-catering cottage. Delicious dining and alfresco breakfasts are available. 5-star TGCSA graded. Carbon Neutral Approved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.