We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home from home !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cornerway House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cornerway House to your Saves list
Cornerway House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   61 Longships Drive, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 78 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, Ohio, Usa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A home from home !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Cornerway House really is a home from home. The care & attention I received there was exceptional- I felt safe ( important as a solo traveller) comfortable,well-fed & I did not want for anything; neither did I want to leave! From the moment I arrived I was in no doubt about how excellent my stay would be .A secure ,comfortable room with every facility and everything provided- comfy bed,squishy pillows,crisp sheets,flowers in the room and on the breakfast table.Eggs poached, fried or any way to perfection every day by the wonderful "Cornerway House " ladies,Rachel,Gloria & Phyllis.Robin,Dee & Kathy will make sure you are very well looked after and make your stay in Plett one of the bes

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pelhamreid, Owner at Cornerway House, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for such a glowing review and mentioning our staff. It is a great encouragement for them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    21
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
67
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We spent a couple of nights at this location and couldn't have been happier. The staff was very accommodating, the morning breakfast was plentiful and very tasty. Upon arrival we were asked what we would like to do around the area and were given suggestions of places to visit and places to eat. We were very happy with their suggestions.

My father was not feeling well on his way to Cornerway House. We called and asked if we could possibly check in early. The said ABSOLUTELY and made sure not only our parents room was ready but our room was also ready. It's little touches to details like this that were common during our stay at Cornerway House.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pelhamreid, Owner at Cornerway House, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your short stay with us and that we were able to be of help to you.
I hope your father has fully recovered?
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Staying at Cornerway House is a bit like staying in someone’s own house. Robin, we didn’t see too much of Dee, was helpful without being intrusive, offering some very useful tips on what to see and where to eat. We thought his suggestion of the fish restaurant, Off-the Hook, excellent and enjoyed reasonably priced meals there for each of our nights in Plettenberg. Breakfast is served on the veranda overlooking the pool, which is large enough for a swim. We had the Veranda Room, a spacious room with plenty of storage and a large shower. Not that we felt at risk but it is worth noting that the safe is only large enough for essential documents and is too small for an iPad or laptop. The parking is secure and undercover. Our only grumble is that we would have preferred a change of towels during our four night stay. When we left the used ones on the floor as a sign for a change, they were just put back on the towel rail. We had a very relaxing time at Cornerway and were given full run of the facilities. Robin even offered the use of the kitchen if we wanted but a visit to Off-the Hook was our favoured option!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pelhamreid, Owner at Cornerway House, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Constructive criticism is always welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Beautiful gardens, stylish room and verandah in nice colours with lovely details decorated. Great big shower. We enjoyed the breakfast on the pool terrace . But first of all: Thanks for the hospitality and all the tips!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pelhamreid, Owner at Cornerway House, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope the rest of your trip in SA was also great fun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We spent a few nights at this nice place on our trip along the Garden Route from the Cape Town to Port Elisabeth. Dee and Robin and the staff are great people who will go miles to help you along with suggestions for restaurants and places to visit. Their dogs and cats add to the pleasure of visiting this great place. We will definitively come back when visiting Plettenbeg again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pelhamreid, Owner at Cornerway House, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you for coming to stay with us and also for your generous review. We all enjoy in having such interesting people to stay.

Kindest Regards,

Robin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterzing
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Nice B+B in Plettenberg Bay, excellent and friendly people! Very englisch with small swimming pool, nice garden ecc. It was super to stay there so if I return to Plettenberg of course i would return!.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We had an immensely pleasurable and relaxed stay at Cornerway House. Dee and Robin were perfect hosts. They were welcoming and friendly, giving realistic and useful advice about the area. All the staff were helpful and efficient. The rooms were interestingly furnished with artistic colour schemes. The breakfasts were excellent and it was enjoyable to eat with views of the pool and pretty garden.
We had fun borrowing the house bodyboard for late afternoon surfing on the nearby beach, returning for a sundowner to drink in our own private courtyard.
The area is packed with possible activities and we could have spent longer than three nights at this delightful location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pelhamreid, Owner at Cornerway House, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
It is always very heartening for not only my wife and I as owners of Cornerway House to receive such great reviews; but all who work with us to give our guest the best possible stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cornerway House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornerway House

Address: 61 Longships Drive, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cornerway House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cornerway House **** is a Cape/Dutch style house set in a pretty garden with a swimming pool. It is situated in a residential area and only 7 minutes walk from the golden sands of Robberg beach. It has 7 individually decorated bedrooms all en-suite and with their own entrance. There is also a self catering appartment to sleep 3. Children by arrangement. All dog lovers welcome and pets are alowed by arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cornerway House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cornerway House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.