We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family of Four Traveling the Garden Route” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cornerway House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cornerway House to your Saves list
Cornerway House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   61 Longships Drive | Western Province, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 84 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas, Usa
1 review
“Family of Four Traveling the Garden Route”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We spent a couple of nights at this location and couldn't have been happier. The staff was very accommodating, the morning breakfast was plentiful and very tasty. Upon arrival we were asked what we would like to do around the area and were given suggestions of places to visit and places to eat. We were very happy with their suggestions.

My father was not feeling well on his way to Cornerway House. We called and asked if we could possibly check in early. The said ABSOLUTELY and made sure not only our parents room was ready but our room was also ready. It's little touches to details like this that were common during our stay at Cornerway House.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 756MikeA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pelhamreid, Owner at Cornerway House, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your short stay with us and that we were able to be of help to you.
I hope your father has fully recovered?
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Staying at Cornerway House is a bit like staying in someone’s own house. Robin, we didn’t see too much of Dee, was helpful without being intrusive, offering some very useful tips on what to see and where to eat. We thought his suggestion of the fish restaurant, Off-the Hook, excellent and enjoyed reasonably priced meals there for each of our nights in Plettenberg. Breakfast is served on the veranda overlooking the pool, which is large enough for a swim. We had the Veranda Room, a spacious room with plenty of storage and a large shower. Not that we felt at risk but it is worth noting that the safe is only large enough for essential documents and is too small for an iPad or laptop. The parking is secure and undercover. Our only grumble is that we would have preferred a change of towels during our four night stay. When we left the used ones on the floor as a sign for a change, they were just put back on the towel rail. We had a very relaxing time at Cornerway and were given full run of the facilities. Robin even offered the use of the kitchen if we wanted but a visit to Off-the Hook was our favoured option!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandyknees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pelhamreid, Owner at Cornerway House, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Constructive criticism is always welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Beautiful gardens, stylish room and verandah in nice colours with lovely details decorated. Great big shower. We enjoyed the breakfast on the pool terrace . But first of all: Thanks for the hospitality and all the tips!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank fewosol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pelhamreid, Owner at Cornerway House, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope the rest of your trip in SA was also great fun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We spent a few nights at this nice place on our trip along the Garden Route from the Cape Town to Port Elisabeth. Dee and Robin and the staff are great people who will go miles to help you along with suggestions for restaurants and places to visit. Their dogs and cats add to the pleasure of visiting this great place. We will definitively come back when visiting Plettenbeg again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soniwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pelhamreid, Owner at Cornerway House, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you for coming to stay with us and also for your generous review. We all enjoy in having such interesting people to stay.

Kindest Regards,

Robin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterzing
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Nice B+B in Plettenberg Bay, excellent and friendly people! Very englisch with small swimming pool, nice garden ecc. It was super to stay there so if I return to Plettenberg of course i would return!.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andreas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We had an immensely pleasurable and relaxed stay at Cornerway House. Dee and Robin were perfect hosts. They were welcoming and friendly, giving realistic and useful advice about the area. All the staff were helpful and efficient. The rooms were interestingly furnished with artistic colour schemes. The breakfasts were excellent and it was enjoyable to eat with views of the pool and pretty garden.
We had fun borrowing the house bodyboard for late afternoon surfing on the nearby beach, returning for a sundowner to drink in our own private courtyard.
The area is packed with possible activities and we could have spent longer than three nights at this delightful location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pelhamreid, Owner at Cornerway House, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
It is always very heartening for not only my wife and I as owners of Cornerway House to receive such great reviews; but all who work with us to give our guest the best possible stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed here,sadly not enough nights to enjoy all the fantastic hospitality shown by the hosts here.
Beautiful style all around with a gorgeous garden.Delicious breakfast in their very pretty patio area,rooms are all pretty and SO comfortable.
They also take huge care in making sure you know where to eat,spend your day or just enjoy the surroundings.
I will be back without doubt!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Angie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pelhamreid, Owner at Cornerway House, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and such a wonderful review.
We do hope you you WILL be back with us some day?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#6 of 15 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 350 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#3 of 15 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 362 reviews
5.7 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 stars 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bayside Lodge
Bayside Lodge
#2 of 84 in Plettenberg Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aquavit Guest House
Aquavit Guest House
#1 of 84 in Plettenberg Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 357 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anlin Beach House
Anlin Beach House
#6 of 84 in Plettenberg Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornerway House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornerway House

Address: 61 Longships Drive | Western Province, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Cornerway House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cornerway House **** is a Cape/Dutch style house set in a pretty garden with a swimming pool. It is situated in a residential area and only 7 minutes walk from the golden sands of Robberg beach. It has 7 individually decorated bedrooms all en-suite and with their own entrance. There is also a self catering appartment to sleep 3. Children by arrangement. All dog lovers welcome and pets are alowed by arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Cornerway House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing