We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lily Pond Country Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lily Pond Country Lodge to your Saves list
Lily Pond Country Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   R102 Nature's Valley Road | The Crags, Plettenberg Bay 6602, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Nederland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We spent three nights recently at Lily Pond Country Lodge in Nature's Valley and had a really wonderful stay. Very comfortable room (semi-detached chalet really) with a beautiful view over the pond. Also occasionally baboons in the garden!
Wonderful food, great atmosphere and super good and friendly service from Carol, Faith and Joseph. Diner in the evenings near the open fire are a great way to spend your evenings! Nature's Valley is lovely and the lodge is near to Plettenberg so ideal for spending some quiet time during your Garden Route travels.
Lovely but cold swimmingpool (but I think that was due to the relatively cold weather at the time; in the height of summer the water will be lovely). All in all a wonderful place to relax and certainly worth a visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LilyPond2012, General Manager at Lily Pond Country Lodge, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your time and trouble responding to Tripadvisor.
We enjoyed having you stay and hopefully the swimming pool and weather will be warmer on your next visit. We are into summer now with 28 degrees. Not to bad considering the 1st snow in Europe.
Thank you for your kind comments regarding Carol, Joseph & Faith.
Looking forward to meeting and spoiling you on your next visit to Lily Pond.
Blessed Greetings to You & Your family for the Christmas and NewYear.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    28
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
133
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Absolute sheer luxury! We stayed here after an enjoyable but hectic safari. Beautiful room overlooking the stunning lily pond.Excellent food and service.We had our table covered in rose petals with a glass of pink champagne as it was our 40 th wedding anniversary.Lovely log fires make this a relaxing place to stay.Great location for many places including Tsitsikamma Nature Reserve and Natures Valley.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 10 which had a stunning view of the lily pond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LilyPond2012, General Manager at Lily Pond Country Lodge, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for staying at Lily Pond and your kind compliments. We enjoyed meeting you and spoiling you. We look forward to hosting you on your next holiday / celebration.
We are truly blessed to have Natures Valley Blue Flag Beach and the natural forests , on our doorstep, and appreciate guests who also enjoy the experience.
Looking forward to seeing you or your friends in the future.
Seasons Greetings to You and Your Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed here on our drive down the Garden Route on the recommendation of family who had visited a few years ago. The room was well furnished and decorated and we had a small terrace overlooking the pond. We only stayed one night but found it very relaxing after what had been a hectic start to our holiday.
The only issue we had was finding a piece of plastic in the starter during the evening meal. The rest of the food was superb. Breakfast in the sunshine was a marvellous way to start the day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LilyPond2012, General Manager at Lily Pond Country Lodge, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for staying at Lily Pond Country Lodge.
We appreciate your comments as we are always striving to improve our guests experience at Lily Pond as well as on their South African Holiday .
We were not aware of your starter problem at dinner, but please accept our apologies.
Hopefully on your next trip to South Africa ,you will spend more time in the Garden Route and at Lily Pond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We went to Lily Pond in September 2008 (low season). This boutique hotel offers a lot of atmosphere, personal attention, minimalistic design rooms which all are well situated around the pond. We got the room (nr 9) with the best view of the pond which was great! The garden and the pond are very nicely landscaped with more than enough privacy for each suite. Breakfast was good. We only had dinner a few times, but were also very tastful. We stayed here a couple of days as we were following the Garden route. Perfect starting point for several outdoor activities, like whale watching, visit to Knysna, but also for a relaxing day at the pool. Check also the beautiful beach just around the corner. Highly recomended!

Room Tip: Choose suite number 9, this suite has the best view of the pond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We arrived at Lilypond with high expectations, and they were met! The warm welcome of Josef was perfect and we felt right at home. We loved the garden room with ensuite bathroom overlooking the pond. The rooms are comfortable and show a modern design.

We also can recommend the dinner at cosy dining room (albeit that you need to be close to the fireplace during wintertimes). You can find fireplaces in all public rooms, giving you a feeling of home away from home.

The hosts Margert and Niels are friendly and can provide you with good advise on things to do in the surroundings. And there is a lot to do being close to Tsitsikamma and Plettenbergbay. So stay more than one night!

Ps be sure to eat at Enrico's nearby!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucca, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Lily Pond lodge is understated elegance and superbly comfortable. It shines out as something different in South Africa. The owners and some of the staff remembered us from our first visit three years before. The service is extremely friendly. Both as a good base for exploring the eastern end of the Garden Route and a place to relax it couldn't be bettered. And the food is great too.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

I didn't know what to expect when I came to Lily Pond and reading the address "Nature's Valley". I was surprised. The guesthouse is in the middle of the lush forests of the Plettenberg Bay area at a nice lily pond. It has a great pool area overlooking the pond, comfortable rooms, spacious suites and excellent food. But the real surprise for me was how close the beach is and how beautiful. I didn't expect that it would be just 10 minutes away from the tranquil forest surrounded guesthouse and that it would be so impressively beautiful.

Room Tip: For lots of space you should choose the garden suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lily Pond Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lily Pond Country Lodge

Address: R102 Nature's Valley Road | The Crags, Plettenberg Bay 6602, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lily Pond Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quietly situated amongst large colorful lily ponds and indigenous forests, Lily Pond is renowned for its design, tranquility, creative cuisine and relaxing ambiance. This contemporary "Afro-Zen" style Country Lodge is ideally situated to explore Tsitsikamma National Park and close to Nature's Valley beach and lagoon. Good food sets the scene and Margret's culinary skills are not to be missed. Large salt water pool & heated Jacuzzi. Dutch & German spoken ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and South African Hotels so you can book your Lily Pond Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lily Pond Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.