We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay at Tanah Merah” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tanah Merah B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plettenberg Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tanah Merah B&B
Save
You added Tanah Merah B&B to your Saves list
33 Bowtie Drive, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 73 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Chorley
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Our stay at Tanah Merah”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2009

A delightful B and B with gracious and helpful hosts. Th accommodation was clean and spacious and our every need was catered for. Vivi took us on an orientation trip of the area so we were able to visit the various locations at our leisure later. He also recommended restaurants and booked reservations for us. We had the whole of the pool floor and were lucky in that the visitors in the rest of the house preferred the beach so we had the sparkling clean pool to ourselves. A quiet and peaceful setting with beautiful views over the bay.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Duesseldorf
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2008

After a fantastic stay in 2006 we decided to come back in 2007. And again we enjoyed the beautiful environment from Tanah Merah. The two larger rooms with sea view are spacious and tastefully decorated. Perfect with the en-suite bathrooms, a small fridge and large windows with direct access to the balcony and pool-area. The morning starts with a delicious breakfast including a selection of German favored bread. Because of the terrific view your breakfast might take longer. Gisela and Vivigens are very helpful to arrange activities for the day and know the nice dinner locations in and around Plettenberg Bay. And one important recommendation: Don’t miss the welcome drink and a tour with Vivigens to get a first impression about the nice places in the surroundings. Enjoy your stay - this is the right place!

  • Liked — The spacious house and their very friendly owners. Well secured property.
  • Disliked — A steep access road.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2008

This was the fourth year that we stayed with Gisela and Vivi. They are wonderful hosts and Tanah Merah is a beautiful house overlooking the Lagoon at Plet. Vivi's garden will make your mouth water and the poolside an oasis on a hot day.
We have travelled extensively and rarely had such an enjoyable holiday, even at top class hotels.
Plet has lots of fine restaurants and the beaches outside of the town are clean and empty even during high season. Much is said in the media of the difficulties that SA is facing. Our experience is of friendly helpful people.
We will be returning to the Eastern Cape.

  • Liked — genuine hospitality
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackrod
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2008

The Tanah Merah Bed & Breakfast in Plattenberg Bay is a must for anyone wishing to experience at a very reasonable price a 5 star B&B in an idyllic location. The spacious accommodation & elegant furnishings together with the attentive, helpful & charming owners Gisela & Vivigens, who speak good English, make Tanah Merah a very special place. The breakfasts were superb and presented with considerable style and when eating outside on the large balcony with stunning views eastwards to the hills of the Tsitsikamma National Park it was a magical way to start the day. The lovely pool area with colourful shrubs and flowers was an added bonus. We stayed there for 5 nights with 2 close friends and none of us will forget the most enjoyable time we had at Tanah Merah. We strongly recommend Tanah Merah to anyone visiting this part of the Garden Route and with so much to do in & around Plettenberg Bay it is well worth a stay of at least 3 days.

Marjorie & Roy Spence

  • Liked — The setting, elegant furnishings and spacious luxury accommodation
  • Disliked — A little too far to walk into the resort of Plettenberg Bay
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2007

We stayed at Tanah Merah at the end of January having selected it based on previous Trip Advisor reviews. We can only say that the experience was even more enjoyable than we had hoped with our hosts making us feel most welcome in their home and going out of their way to be hospitable without intruding on our privacy. We stayed in some excellent hotels and B&Bs on our stay in SA but this must rate as one
of the best.

  • Liked — Views, pool and hospitality
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2006

A great place to stay: allow at least 4 nights.

It is a large modern upmarket house in a residential road of similar properties about 1 mile from centre of Plett. We stayed in the Bankok room which was, large, en-suite, has a sitting area and was very tastefully decorated. Because the house is high on a hill there are great views over the strand, the lagoon behind and the surrounding mountains. The pictures understate the actual view. There are doors out to the balcony where breakfast is served - with full benefit of the view. There is a large (10m) swimming pool and ample secure parking.

Everything is beautifully done and excellently maintained. The breaskfast place settings were impeccable and although we chose to eat little, the breakfasts were excellent too.

Hosts were very friendly and helpful. On arrival they took us a tour of the area pointing out places and restraunts we we would otherwise have missed. There was also a welcome drink.

Plett town centre is unremarkable but has supermarkets and plenty of restraunts and several good beaches. Our favourite places (in order were) Storms River, Natures Valley, Rino Safari Park, Kerbooms Strand, Knysna.

A little bit of heaven yes - except the weather is changeable

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2006

We experienced three days of first class hospitality and superbly presented breakfasts. The en-suite bedroom was spacious and very well appointed and the views from the bedroom balcony of the bay and the mountains were magnificent. Great hosts.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tanah Merah B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanah Merah B&B

Address: 33 Bowtie Drive, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tanah Merah B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.