We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy & Comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stone Cottage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Stone Cottage to your Saves list
Stone Cottage
Cnr Harker and Odland Streets, Plettenberg Bay, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 73 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cosy & Comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The best place to stay in Plettenberg Bay! Friendly staff and stunning decor. The rooms were well equipped. The location is amazing and the beds are super comfy. I would recommend anyone staying at Stone Cottage.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    16
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
16
29
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Very nice rooms on a perfect spot. Nice terrace and everything was there for breakfast in the kitchen. Pity the springs of the mattresses are really bad! For that price we suggest to change the mattresses of the big bed and of the 2 single beds.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladyflower13, Owner at Stone Cottage, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your review! Your input is greatly appreciated!
Sorry to hear the beds were "springy" - and hope your didn't walk away with a creaky back - but rather light, love, art, happy memories and inspiration! Please come back for more! Sending you positive energy and love
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed there for three nights, the front porch has an amazing view of the sunrise, and if you're lucky you can even see whales! the place is very well maintained, with beautiful styling and lovely staff! the whole atmosphere of the place is very welcoming and relaxed.

we enjoyed it very much!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladyflower13, Owner at Stone Cottage, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and thoughts through your review! It was much appreciated - and we hope to spread the love that you felt: onto others!
Come back anytime for more!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Well furnished, comfortable, full of character, good view of the bay.
Use of sea facing balcony limited by traffic noise from road below.
Hope to return to enjoy nice outdoor facilities on entrance side. Will recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Had a great time. This is my second time at Stone Cottage and I will come again. Overall a beautiful place with great views. Only downfall is the traffic that you can hear till late night and then early start in the morning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnieLeRoux, Owner at Stone Cottage, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
SO HAPPPPPPPPPY to have you for a return visit! We hope for many more from you, your family and your friends!! And, we think of the traffic, amongst the sweeping sea view and mountainscape, the crisp ocean breeze, and the sounds of the crashing waves, as a kind reminder that we are modern beings, living in a modern world! with modern sights and sounds! to help bring us to the present!
Thank you for your review! See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

always warmest and friendliest welcome. Big tray of teas, coffee biscuits etc on arrival - enough for the whole holiday. Best view in the whole of Plettenberg Bay. Homely and clean and completely relaxed. Just a few seconds from the sea. Can't possibly imagine finding a better place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnieLeRoux, Owner at Stone Cottage, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
We give you the warmest of welcomes because we get the warmest reviews from you! Thank you for choosing to make our home - your home! And we warmly welcome you BACK!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Dear Stone Cottage,
Thank you for hosting us! We has such a spectacular time! For a pair on a travel budget - your offerings far surpass those of any other backpackers or suites in the whole of the Western Cape! I probably don't have to mention the beachfront view, the smell and feel of the seaside breeze and the sound of crashing waves at night - because those are all a bonus to the artistic and creative energy that courses through the wild plum covered, hillside home and the words of wisdoms that loom around all your corners (literally)! The appreciation for your historic family tale and is untouchable! I enjoyed every minute spent in your CLEANLINESS, your soft linens and towels, and your inspirational walls!! THANK you!

Room Tip: I would go for the Boetie Pierre any day!!! It costs a little more, but provides far more extra! Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnieLeRoux, Owner at Stone Cottage, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you DEAR GUEST!
We welcome you BACK to our sturdy walls any day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stone Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Cottage

Address: Cnr Harker and Odland Streets, Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in history, resting on a hill overlooking Plettenberg Bay’s beautiful beaches, from the Outeniqua mountains to the Robberg peninsula, Stone Cottage has stood watching over time and tide for over a century. Passionately restored, this historic guesthouse offers comfortable suites for discerning travellers who welcome a unique and authentic experience. Stone Cottage has been a warm & welcoming home on the road for guests, enjoying the relaxed, eclectic elegance of this iconic home. Filled with reclaimed treasures, art, memorabilia & a sense of humour, this venue has been a retreat for many who have found solace in Stone Cottage’s quietly quirky & creative atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Stone Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stone Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.