We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Quirky and Different” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Cafe and Rooms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Cafe and Rooms to your Saves list
Grand Cafe and Rooms
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Main Road, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
wales
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lovely Quirky and Different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We loved this place. I agree with other reviewers, the outside looks a bit odd, but once through the doors, this really has got a wow factor. Lovely dining room, great views from the terrace where you can have meals. Lovely room, big freestanding bath, double shower very comfortable bed.
The no under 16's policy is good as well. Children careering around this very adult hotel would not be appropriate.
Food was good, staff were very good and friendly.
Hayley and Suzanne were really helpful. We will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We had room 6, but I am sure all rooms would be equally stylish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    37
    8
    6
    5
See reviews for
17
117
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Like people before us we were not impressed with the outside of the property but the old saying is correct "Dont judge a book by its cover".
We couldn't believe the size of the room. A double shower and a large bath set next to the window was a beautiful touch. It was so romantic even thoug I have been married for 33years I felt I had the honeymoon suite.
We dined at the grand cafe and rooms and was disappointed. It was well priced and the house wine was fantastic.
We decided to have a day at the beach and we were proved with beach towels which was a great touch.

I would really recommend this hotel a piece of heaven.

Room Tip: we had room 6 which had no balcony owever our bath was at he window with the shutters open it was br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardff
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
488 helpful votes 488 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed here at the end of Feb.From the outside this hotel does not have the 'wow' factor but look inside and it is a different matter. Our room was huge with a double shower and free standing bath in front of a shuttered door.I would describe the decor as 'shabby chic'. Our daughters declined the room downstairs with an outside shower but were very happy with the room next to us.A special thank you to Hayley who was charming and helpful in the face of my husbands first reaction to the hotel(he likes modern hotels) but he was won around after a good nights sleep.Breakfast and service were very good. A great hotel for couples but not really suitable for familys.Quite a few stairs to negotiate and if you can't climb up onto the highest bed I have seen then it's not for you. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandDamePlett, General Manager at Grand Cafe and Rooms, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your favourable review, it is always very helpful to receive feedback as this helps keep us on our toes. Delighted that Hayley had a positive impact on your stay and that it was enjoy by all. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to our Grand Plett.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I loved the decor, ambience and quirky feel of The Grand! Eventhough it is on the main road, it is totally quiet and secluded once you step inside - close enough to all the attractions of Plett and yet private .....
The views are just incredible and did not want to leave!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandDamePlett, General Manager at Grand Cafe and Rooms, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, we are certainly blessed with incredible views over the Keurbooms Lagoon, Tsitsikamma mountains and bay of Plettenberg, one almost has to pinch yourself to make sure what you are seeing is in fact real. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Grand quirkiness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Short & Sweet.
My Absolute dream hotel.
this place is out of this world, it is decorated to perfection, it is pure romance.
We stayed here for 3 nights on our Honeymoon and boy was i blown away.
We stayed in room 6, massive massive room.
Hotel staff are so lovely, and feel over backwards for us.
I said to my husband, that if ever in my life he wants to take me somewhere for dreams, take me back here.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandDamePlett, General Manager at Grand Cafe and Rooms, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review, it is certainly heart warming to receive positive comments about your stay and your experience with our caring staff. We very much look forward to welcoming you back and creating new dreams...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Alfred, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We had the most relaxing, awesome stay with great service and fantastic food. The view and rooms are spacious and cool. The staff are ready to help with every need.
thanks v much we will defi be back.




  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Loved it! Great rooms, great location with lovely view of the bay. Friendly staff, excellent food. Only there one night but wish we could have stayed longer, will definitely return. No car park but street parking right outside so not a problem. Would definitely recommend to those who like romantic stays in small boho chic hotels.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Cafe and Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Cafe and Rooms

Address: 27 Main Road, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#3 Spa Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#6 Family Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#6 Luxury Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Cafe and Rooms 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are few places that can transport you somewhere else in time & emotion. One of these are the Grand Café & Rooms, where a sense of elegant and worldly charm reflects upon its setting over one of Africa’s most beautiful bays - Plettenberg Bay. Grand Café with her 7 uniquely styled rooms, presents a beautifully appointed deck, Leopard Lounge and Café to experience GRAND café-style dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Grand Cafe and Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Cafe And Rooms Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Cafe and Rooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.