We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Stylish Rooms and Superb Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Cafe and Rooms

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Cafe and Rooms to your Saves list
Grand Cafe and Rooms
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Main Road, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very Stylish Rooms and Superb Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed at the Grand for 4 nights as one of 6 stops during our honeymoon. We stayed in some great places but the Grand was the highlight. The rooms are quirky but very stylish with great attention to detail. We stayed upstairs in Room 7 and the view was spectacular. Its also a very large room and the beds are extremely comfy. Aside from the stylish surroundings the service was magnificant. Both Hayley and Cybil at reception could not have been more welcoming or helpful. They gave us great tips on things to do in Knysna and at Storms River and also recommended the excellant Nguni restaurant for an evening meal.The restaurant staff were also very friendly and attentive. The breakfast was superb with a varied menu and great coffee. We ate in the restaurant on the first night of our stay and the meal was so good we chose to eat there again on the last evening. Best place we've ever stayed!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    46
    12
    8
    7
See reviews for
19
135
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed at the Grand Cafe and Rooms in November 2012 and loved the place - wacky decor and lovely restaurant. But the level of service we received when we stupidly left our valuables (including passports!) in the safe was incomparable. When the courier company let her down, Suzanne drove the package herself to our next destination - north of PE! It's a 3and a half hour drive.

Breakfast on the balcony with views over the bay and freshly cooked food, is a wonderful start to any day.

Room Tip: If you want your own pool (and TWO baths)- go for the Bath House. Other rooms have their own advanta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for one night in Oct during our honeymoon along the garden route.the hotel is very stylish,the rooms extravagant and comfortable, also plenty of space and amazing view over the bay. I had a facial treatment in the salon as the weather was rainy.we had dinner in the restaurant in the evening, and it was very good.the cocktails are delicious and we loved the chilled out terrace where we had our breakfast in the sun the next morning. Very recommendable hotel friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

It was my best friend's wedding at The Grand in Plett last week. I can not rave enough about the personalised service and the completely relaxed way in which it was done. Being an event coordinator myself, I understand how difficult it can be to make a venue work in the best way possible but when I walked in and met Suzanne she just had everything so under control and there was nothing left to chance. It did help that the Bride was possibly the most relaxed bride I've ever seen but Suzanne took everything completely in her stride and the wedding was absolutely perfect in every way!!! I can not compliment Suzanne's style enough - she is exactly the kind of General Manager / Event Coordinator that a boutique hotel requires.

The other staff were all extremely helpful but not over the top, they stayed up until 4am with the Irish singers and were serving the early birds breakfast by 6am - still not sure how they managed that!!

The rooms are perfectly comfortable and our room had a spectacular sea view which was hard to leave!! It is important to note that not all rooms have showers but have got a shower extension on the bath.

There was absolutely nothing that I could fault about this hotel and my entire experience there! The food was absolutely delicious, the personal service made me feel at home and the rooms were just so comfortable that I didn't want to leave. Also, the fact that the hotel is so central to town and the beach - you can get just about anywhere on foot!

Do yourself a favour and GO GRAND!!!

Room Tip: Definitely request a sea view - otherwise the bath house has it's own private swimming pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We had a wonderful group get-together with tasty starters and drinks on the verandah - an amazing view as the sun set and the full moon cast a beautiful reflection. The staff is perfection, the food sublime and the atmosphere incredible. Surely not to be missed when next in Plett!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

we stayed as part of a trip around the Western Cape in July . The picture above does not do it justice as it looks attractive from the outside . But the real treat is inside which is attractively eclectic and even better are the stunnning views from the patio and some of the bedrooms . Our 2 rooms were lovely and really well decorated , with a patio at the front and a private garden at the rear ! Breakfast was lovely and could be eaten outside on the patio even in the middle of winter under heaters . Service was attentive and charming .Wonderful place would love to go back . Enjoyed by all 10 of our group .

Room Tip: the first floor rooms may have better sea views but the ground floor rooms may have access to the sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrybigones
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed here earlier this year and LOVED it! We only had breakfast - no other meals so cannot vouch for those - but the service was wonderful, the place was wonderful, so comfortable, so off the wall, SUCH views! Treat yourself to a bit of campness, it's so worth it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Cafe and Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Cafe and Rooms

Address: 27 Main Road, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#7 Luxury Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#7 Family Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Cafe and Rooms 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are few places that can transport you somewhere else in time & emotion. One of these are the Grand Café & Rooms, where a sense of elegant and worldly charm reflects upon its setting over one of Africa’s most beautiful bays - Plettenberg Bay. Grand Café with her 7 uniquely styled rooms, presents a beautifully appointed deck, Leopard Lounge and Café to experience GRAND café-style dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Grand Cafe and Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Cafe And Rooms Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Cafe and Rooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.