We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“December 2012- looking run down” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kurland Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kurland Hotel to your Saves list
Kurland Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kurland Estate | The Crags, Plettenberg Bay 6602, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“December 2012- looking run down”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Although I was not a hotel guest at Kurland, I visited the estate with my fiance to scout for a potential wedding venue. When we drove up to the builiding over looking the main polo field, we were shocked at how the building looked in complete disrepair. For a supposedly 5 star estate, this building had rotten wood planks, well worn white paint that was chipping off everywhere. Inside it looked terribly outdated. There were no recent polo trophis or framed photos, it seems it's hey day was in 2003-2004.

The hotels famous rose garden was not impressive either. The pathways between the roses had so many weeds, and the roses looked like the needed to be pruned.

The owners really need to update the estate, I don't understand how this place can be rated 5 stars, when the spectacular Vineyard hotel with it's well manicured gardens and magnificant suites is only 4 stars. I think we will definitely get married at the latter, Kurland really needs a makeover.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurland, Owner at Kurland Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
We always consider criticism seriously. In this case, perhaps the criticism was a bit harsh? This young lady visited the Polo Pavilion as a potential venue for her Wedding. She was accompanied by a Hotel Manager. She was advised that the Pavilion had been used the day before for a 200 person social event; in was still being `cleaned up’ at the time of her visit. Due to the previous day’s function, which included a Disco in the main Bar and Trophy Room, trophies had been removed for safety’s sake, as also many of the Polo Photographs. In so far as `white paint chipping off’ is concerned, the Pavilion was in the process of bi-annual maintenance work for the forthcoming Polo Season. The critic, we believe, was aware of this…if not, she may have seen the builders’ ladders and other material beneath the building.
Regarding the Rose Garden, and it’s pathways needing attention, we mention that we have recently received an Award from the Knysna Rose Society, the Members of which are regular visitors to our Hotel. Although we take pride in all our gardens, they are purposely not `manicured’ as a City Hotel’s garden would be, we are a Country Lodge’. Finally, and with respect to our critic, roses are not pruned in mid-summer.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    12
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
39
45
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Kurland is situated 15 minutes outside of Plettenberg Bay and is a top Polo estate. My girlfriend and i visited the hotel for a breakfast in December 2012. The beautiful old buildings, surrounded by rose bushes, stables and a large polo field, really add to the ambiance. The hotel restaurant has beautiful wooden floors, is spacious and feels luxurious without being pretentious.
The breakfast buffet ensured that one was not left wanting with everything from cereals, fresh fruits, smoothies and baked goods. Following on from this there is a wide range of cooked breakfasts available and the eggs Benedict and smoked salmon scrambled eggs were delicious. The staff are attentive, professional and welcoming and we will definitely visit when we are next in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed for four nights at the Kurland, over Christmas, with our two young children (7 & 4). The hotel is lovely in beautiful grounds - the setting really is fantastic. We stayed in one of the two largest rooms (the separate villa aside) which really is impressive. The ground floor main bedroom is extremely spacious and well appointed, with a spacious bathroom to match - there was also a large sun terrace with a private plunge pool, which was also large, for a plunge pool. The upstairs "loft" room for the children was simply vast, also with their own large bathroom - various toys are supplied which meant they settled in very quickly!

We had Christmas Eve dinner in the main hotel restaurant, and Christmas Day lunch at their separate Katerina restaurant - both were lovely, with the Christmas Eve dinner perhaps being a little more "special" (the main course at Katerina was a self-service buffet).

A very special mention should go to Lorna who looks after the children's activities (and to her lovely children who were helping her out). This is no "kids club" as offered by other hotels, but a very personalised and friendly service and Lorna really cares - if you want her to watch your child for two minutes or two hours that's absolutely fine - she makes sure that they are safe and entertained, whether it's in the pool, playing Lego, or creating "sand art" pictures. There's no "let's put them in front of a DVD" attitude here! A real asset to the hotel, and our specific thanks to her.

Service at the hotel was very good throughout. We had a couple of "hiccups" on our arrival, but we fed that back while we were there and the owner appeared within minutes to discuss and apologise - all was plain sailing after that and we were impressed at the level of interest afforded to our concerns -again thank you.

The Kurland is a fantastic place to stay and is highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The attention to detail in this most beautiful hotel is extraordinary..
Fresh roses grown in their own garden are generously filled in masses of vases throughout the hotel.
the real log fires are always lit, candles are always burning...the ambiance and decorating are so special.
Its like another world.
The staff are charming and friendly.You feel you staying in the most beautiful country house.
The farm itself is breathtaking.
I cannot recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape town
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Thank you to all the staff at kurland for making this second visit as memorable! I cannot recommend this lovely hotel enough. We travelled here with 2 children ages five and seven and they are as awe inspired as we are. Personalised and friendly service is hard to come by these days and we so appeciated the warmth and care. The rooms are elegantly furnished and the attention to detail is mesmerising! Beautiful roses in your room everyday! Lovely views, excellent housekeeping and great room service allowed us to relax and enjoy the maginficent surroundings!
Thank you to Peter, Adrian and the rest of the Kurland Family. We shall be back as soon as we can!!!!!

Room Tip: Paddock 5 and 6 have own private plunge pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paarl
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at Kurland with two luxury rooms, one for our children and another for my wife and I. we absolutely loved the hotel. The rooms are wonderfully furnished and extremely spacious. Our kids thought they had died and gone to heaven. The ambiance of the hotel was very lovely. We enjoyed the lovely open spaces and peacefullness of the estate. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a very enjoyable time and would recommend this hotel strongly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Kurland is by far the most beautiful hotel I have ever been to. We stayed with our 4 kids for 4 amazing nights. The place is just huge with tons of green spaces, horses, trees and mountains. The rooms, furnitures, dishes, decorations, afternoon tea and the fires all around, make you fill you are in a real british palace. The kids room is a true dreamy room any kid would like to have at home. Words cannot describe all this beauty. The staff are great and rush to assist with everything. We enjoyed the quad bikes, the horse riding and the bikes. Must find an excuse to return asap:)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kurland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kurland Hotel

Address: Kurland Estate | The Crags, Plettenberg Bay 6602, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#5 Luxury Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kurland Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ambassador to the finer things in life, Kurland is the ideal family and honeymoon retreat along The Garden Route. Situated in the foothills of the Western Cape Mountains on on a vast and beautiful private estate, complete with its own polo club, Kurland hotel is the stuff of holiday fantasies. This luxury boutique hotel, within reach of secluded beaches and a great variety of activities, has buckets of character, a never-be-bored menu of things to do, fine cuisine and staff who know the true meaning of the word ‘hospitality’.Over 50yrs ago Baron Peter Behr discovered a coastal paradise of exquisite beauty near Plettenberg Bay on the Garden Route in South Africa and purchased the estate which he named Kurland after the Baltic province where he was born. In 2000, Behr’s grandson Peter, and his wife Dianne, transformed the family homestead into a Luxury Boutique Hotel which sits at the heart of a 1700 acre estate of stunning natural beauty, perfect for country pursuits. Today, Kurland is a peaceful and luxurious sanctuary which offers highly personalised service, fine cuisine and excellent facilities. Its location within the Tsitsikamma Nature Reserve allows guests the chance to enjoy equestrian activities, forest walks, unspoilt beaches, water sports, and extreme activities such as bungy jumping or sky diving. Kurland also boasts its own championship polo ground, private stables and tuition centre – perfect for guests who wish to learn to play themselves or simply sit and back and marvel at the professionals. Adult guests at Kurland will enjoy the hotel’s 12 luxurious suites, sumptuous interiors, peaceful library, gorgeous rose gardens and well equipped spa whilst parents will relax safe in the knowledge that the needs of younger guests are also very well tended to by Kurland’s experienced team of nannies. Children will relish in Kurland’s facilities – two, three and four bed loft rooms have been cleverly created above the main suites, each with en-suite bathroom and play area and they can choose to dine in ‘Children Only’ Dining Conservatory, Private Playroom or by invitation at the excusive Chef’s Table in the kitchen.Retaining its age-old reputation for great hospitality amidst spectacular natural beauty, Kurland has received a number of accolades including Runner-up in the prestigious Tatler Hotel of the Year awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Kurland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kurland Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kurland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.