We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of African Array Lodge

Save Saved
You added African Array Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
African Array Lodge
30 Ladywood | 30 Ladywood, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Haarlem, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
“home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Vicky and Mattthew went out of their way to make everything absolutely perfect. Information about the tours in and around Plett, perfect food, a stunning few, everything always clean and overall a warm and friendly feeling when you are at african array. For me it was comming home everyday again. I was planning to stay for a week but i ended up staying there for 2,5 week. And i am planning to come back as soon as possible. Also if you are interested, there is a wonderful volunteer project, what is certainly worth looking into!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
18
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sliema, Malta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My husband and I make this place a stop whenever we travel the garden route and the warm and welcoming atmosphere has brought us back several times. This is a "special place" with beautiful, picturesque surroundings. The second floor "honeymoon suite" is our favorite - with a private terrace perfect for enjoying both sunsets and sunrises.
Matthew and Vicky always go out of their way to make our stay comfortable and make us feel at home. If you book a night, it's likely that you'll extend your stay (as we have done).

Room Tip: The second floor ensuite room is our favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mossel Bay, South Africa
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

From the minute you step into African Array you feel at home. Vicky and Matthew don't even have to try to make you feel at home, it comes quite naturally for them. Our room was very spacious with the most beautiful views of Plett from our balcony. We loved the dogs and children and our sons was immediate friends. My son loved it so much that he wants to move to Plett so that he can visit them daily. Thanks Matthew and Vicky we loved and our stay with you guys.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Had such a great stay. Hosts were so friendly, sociable and welcoming. The incredible views surround you when you're lying in bed, eating at the dining table, socialising outside or in the spacious lounge. The home cooked food is delicious and generous. Nice distance away from the hustle and bustle of town. Will definitely come back!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicedale, Eastern Cape, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Thank for the great accommodation and venue - they assisted us to accommodate all our students in their lodge - 30 people(boys and girls separately) Beautiful outside settings and views.Great kitchen facilities for self catering and braai area. Matthew and his staff made us feel quite at home with the dogs and free wi-fi access, large screen TV. It was a little challenging for our large bus but for a good driver all went well. Thanks for a successful weekend.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I would like to just say how impressed my husband and I were with African Array Lodge. I wanted to surprise my hubby with a weekend away for our anniversary and Vicky, Matt and Salomie made sure we had a magical time helping me plan and execute my surprise! The views are absolutely amazing and we were served a beautifully cooked meal on our private balcony. We loved the homely feel and when we woke up in the morning felt like we were at home when we had breakfast in bed, what a treat! The service is beyond what you would expect at a backpackers and all of the staff go out of their way to ensure you have everything you need. Thanks guys for the amazing weekend, we will definitely be back as soon as we can!

Room Tip: The private room upstairs is great! It is huge, has a private balcony and a jacuzzi bath with an am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewVictoriaRowe, Owner at African Array Lodge, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review African Array Lodge, we really enjoyed your company and we are so glad that you thought about us on your special day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The lodge is beautifully situated although the road to get to it desperately needs to be graded. Don't take a fancy or low slung vehicle. Not also that this is really someone's house: family and dogs running around and a communal kitchen. Certainly not a problem, provided that is what was expected.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to African Array Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Array Lodge

Address: 30 Ladywood | 30 Ladywood, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 48 Specialty lodging in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This one of a kind hostel and lodge is nestled between an array of Fynbos(Wild flowers)on a cliff with a 270 degree panoramic view overlooking a lake all the way to the warm Indian ocean and the Robberg Peninsula. We believe we have the most fantastic view on the Garden Route and seeing is believing. A true hidden GEM.Relax with a book in the garden on one of the hammock under the trees or surf the net on our free WIFI. The building is a beautiful Villa with high ceilings and large windows so you never miss out on the view where ever you are in the Lodge. All our bedrooms have a fantastic view with lots of natural light at anytime of the day. The atmosphere is homely and we pride our self on giving our guest the VIP treatment at all times. Fancy catering for your self, our kitchen is well equipped and you will need nothing else to prepare any meal. If you feel like having a braai(BBQ) then we will light up the fire and provide you the spices. The beers is always cold and the fires always hot so why not spoil your self and pay us a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelBookers so you can book your African Array Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage African Array Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.