We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They coped!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fat Fish

The Fat Fish
Hopwood Street | Central Beach, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
0445334740
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $22
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A funky, hip but stylish fish restaurant and tapas bar, Fat Fish takes tapas to a new gastronomic high. On Central Beach Plettenberg Bay, with great views of our beautiful bay
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“They coped!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

As a group of 17 we were a bit of a handful but the staff and restaurant coped magnificently with us all. Good value and a nice night out. Fish was universally good, chips could have been better

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    180
    37
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Going the extra mile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

As a non fish eating vegetarian this could have been a disaster the Chef and Staff went out of their way to accomodate me and served me one of the best Vegetable pastas I have ever had. My fish eating dining companions were also highly impressed by their food. Great ambiance, excellent food and good value for money.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crockerton, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a great place to eat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Wonderful food and views. Friendly well trained staff an d the owner manager very hands on, always a good sign. This has to be the best place in Plettenberg that I have eaten at.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Unacceptable service policy”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

I ordered 2 entrees with 2 starters One of these was listed as a Caesar salad. This came and was not acceptable. I sent this back and asked for the staff to substitute another salad. The manager told me that once food is made regardless of whether this is edible the patron will be charged

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“brilliant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

VERY good seafood and superb quality. Good value for the money and knowledgeable and very dedicated service. Absolutely ask for Anthony!!! Two thumbs up.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fat Fish also viewed

Harkerville, Plettenberg Bay
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to The Fat Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fat Fish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.