We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy weekend in a lovely location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Plettenberg Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Plettenberg Hotel to your Saves list
The Plettenberg Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Church Street, Garden Route | P. O. Box 719, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Happy weekend in a lovely location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We were very pleased to return to this charming hotel in order to attend a wedding nearby.
We were upgraded to a very pretty room as we did not like the ground floor room
on edge of a car-park we were originally allocated. The trouble with booking online is
that the hotel does not know if you are returning or new guests. Anyway we were very
impressed by the friendliness and professionalism of the staff throughout the hotel. We
lunched and dined at the hotel during the weekend and thought the food was really delicious.
Breakfast was also very good with lots of nicely prepared fruit, juices, breads etc. very attractively laid out. We like the fact no-one knocked on our door for turn-down or to do the room in the morning, but when we returned to our room a magic fairy had waived her wand. I agree the bathrooms are rather small and I really dislike these little bins with lids you tend to find in hotel bathrooms. I prefer an open bin that cannot fall over! Still overall these are quibbles. We always leave this lovely hotel feeling refreshed and rejuvenated after being cosseted and cared for.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view not over looking car-park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnemieParker, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for the constructive and positive feedback, and wonderful to welcome you back to the Plettenberg. We hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards,
Annemie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    46
    10
    6
    3
See reviews for
42
161
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

This is a very expensive hotel but with a fabulous location. Our room above the rocks had fabulous views from the bed and a panoramic view of the beach from the sofa. The hotel staff were faultless. Breakfast on the terrace was excellent and we had an enjoyable dinner in the restaurant. On the negative side, the small bathroom was the poorest on our entire trip to SA (out of a total of 11 hotels/B&Bs). The shower door opened straight into the toilet and you had to squeeze in and out. Also disappointing was the used ashtray with several butts on the balcony.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnemieParker, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for our feedback. We are very lucky to have such a wonderful location, and I am glad that we could share this with you. We take all comments good or bad to heart and will strive to find solutions for them. We hope to welcome you back to the Plettenberg some day.
Kind Regards,
Annemie Parker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

This hotel is truly lovely- as well as the fabulous decor, amazing views, and excellent rooms- the staff are also very helpful.

I have never been to a hotel where the management were so present - Annemie was there during our check in and came to speak to every guest at breakfast - a nice touch.

We also ate dinner in the restaurant which was excellent,

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnemieParker, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you for the lovely review! We hope to welcome you back for your wedding anniversary.
Kind Regards,
Annemie Parker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

The hotel unfortunately didn't match it's idyllic location and failed to meet our expectations of a Relais and Chateaux property.

The staff were certainly trying to give excellent service and some of them succeeded although many didn't. An early breakfast served in our room came with no cups and saucers, only one plate and knife, no butter or preserves to accompany the bread and two bowls of fresh fruit, each one sufficient to feed 6 people.

Our room was certainly very we'll appointed although the walk in wardrobe space and shelving was difficult to manage with poor lighting.

The visit was also followed up with a letter asking us to discuss anything pertaining to our visit with a Manager who is no longer there! All in all a very disappointing experience

Room Tip: The main building has more 'soul' than the Blue Wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnemieParker, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
It is terrible to hear that we did not exceed the expectations that you had of the Plettenberg as we really do strive to give all our guests a wonderful experience. It does sadden us when our guests are not happy.

All points raised will be investigated and solutions found.

We do hope that you might give us a chance again in the future to make up for what you experienced at the Plettenberg.

Kind Regards,
Annemie Parker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

The hotel is superb with extensive views over the lagoon, ocean and beaches. It is on the overseas tourist circuit so expect to pay international prices. It is an excellent base to explore Plett, Knysna and the garden route up to Storms River.

The rooms are beautifully appointed and the service immaculate. All of the staff are helpful and friendly and jump to fulfil any request.

There are 2 pools, one of which is a lap pool and the beach is an easy walk with a security guard on duty.

We had an excellent dinner in the hotel and the cocktail bar offers a wide selection. For lunch you can stroll down to the Lookout Deck.

Definitely a "must" stopover on the Garden Route.

Room Tip: Room 55 is the best room in the hotel; it is a step away from the pool area and has a private terrac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnemieParker, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Wonderful to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Plettenberg. It certainly is a great base to explore the beautiful surrounding areas.
Thank you for taking the time to post a comment
Kind Regards,
Annemie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Great food, great service, close to the town, brilliant coffee shop at the top of the street, Claire's I think. But the hotel is really good, service, cleanliness etc were all very difficult to fault. Just a shame it was a bit overcast really. And staff were very friendly and efficient.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnemieParker, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you for the review. We hope to welcome you back in perfect Plett sunny weather next time.
Kind Regards
Annemie Parker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Everything about The Plettenberg Hotel is first class. We upgraded to a sea view room and we were pleased we did as some of the rooms overlook the carpark. Our room was light and airy and had french windows opening onto a small balcony. The restaurant is popular with non residents so it can be quite busy some lunchtimes. The menu is varied and food was delicious. Overall a beautiful spot!! Wish I could afford to go every year!!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnemieParker, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
So happy to hear that we were able to upgrade you to a sea view room and that you had an enjoyable time with us at the Plettenberg. We would love for you to visit us again some time.
Kind Regards,
Annemie Parker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Plettenberg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plettenberg Hotel

Address: 40 Church Street, Garden Route | P. O. Box 719, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Plettenberg Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plettenberg - situated on a rocky headland in Africa's most spectacular coastal resort - is the ultimate escape. The 37 luxury rooms and suites, showcase the most breathtaking vistas in Southern Africa. With views of the ocean, mountains and endless stretches of golden beach, The Plettenberg is situated in the heart of the adventure-rich Garden Route, world-renowned for its excellent selection of outdoor activities. From regular dolphin and whale sightings to bungee jumping, treetop canopy tours and other more daring pursuits in the surrounding countryside. The Plettenberg is the ideal place to both relax and unwind - or recharge and reinvigorate - through a series of sensational endeavours. At The Plettenberg the charming service, exceptional cuisine, which is overseen by The Collection by Liz McGrath’s Grand Chef, Peter Tempelhoff, and the setting combine to create the ultimate story, one of a South African seaside property unlike any other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your The Plettenberg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Plettenberg Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.