We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced but Great Croissants” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Fournil de Plett Bakery and Cafe

Le Fournil de Plett Bakery and Cafe
Lookout Centre, The Courtyard | Main Road, Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
044 533 1390
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Overpriced but Great Croissants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We have been to Plettenberg Bay numerous times and never been to this little bakery but on our last visit we went there on our last morning and bought the croissants and a tuille and also a country loaf to take home. They are one of the best bakeries I have been to maybe a little overpriced but will definitely visit again

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    38
    14
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Overpriced otherwise excellent”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

A pot of tea 22 rands therefore we were charged 44 rands in total for the to of us!!! Plus an almond croissant which was 25 rands but absolutely gorgeous. At the end of the day though it is a blooming croissant for goodness sakes. The tea is made with proper loose tea leaves not tea bags and the pots were quirky. Not sure why it is so overpriced but the owners should visit other successful cafés where the food and beverage are realistically and reasonably priced. Otherwise it's a good location with wifi availability. The service staff were friendly and welcoming. There was a good selection of bread but we didn't bother buying one after our expensive afternoon tea!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The best croissants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

A charming restaurant with the best croissants ever. Excellent service, great tasting delicacies and an inviting atmosphere. Truly a deal for quality and ambience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Frech style cusine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We have returned to Le Fournil, after seeing a good review in a Cape Town newspaper. Excellent service, excellent food - altogether a very pleasant experience. We will return when we next visit Plettenberg Bay!
Heinz and Alison

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We come to Plett once a year and we have been coming to Le Fournil for years for breakfast or lunch- it never disappoints- it is a very very special place- don't miss it- everything about it is awesome!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Fournil de Plett Bakery and Cafe also viewed

Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Harkerville, Plettenberg Bay
 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to Le Fournil de Plett Bakery and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Fournil de Plett Bakery and Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.