We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular view of Indian Ocean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Robberg Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Robberg Beach Lodge to your Saves list
The Robberg Beach Lodge
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   89 Beachy Head Drive, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Tripadvisor Discount
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Blyth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Spectacular view of Indian Ocean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We had a fabulous 2 night stay at The Robberg hotel in January 2014. The staff made us very welcome. The hotel itself is tastefully decorated which sets a very peaceful and relaxing atmosphere. The view of the Indian Ocean from the reception area of the Hotel is so beautiful. This hotel has three buildings spread over a hilly area, which has been carefully arranged with walk ways and staircases making it easy to access all area's. We had a lovely room,with a fantastic bathroom in a Thatched roof building call Cottage Pie, gorgeous garden and swimming pool, one of two in the hotel. The breakfast has very good quality produce, there is a buffet with cereal, fruit etc you can also have a cooked breakfast, which is cooked to order, perfect. Large secure car park. Would defiantly recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you so much for finding the time to write such a kind and informative review. We really appreciate your letting other people know how much you enjoyed the lodge and your holiday in the beautiful Plettenberg Bay. We are so glad that you mentioned the incredible views of the Indian Ocean. Plett's beaches are certainly among the best in South Africa, (if not the best!) from the views to the temperature of the water. Feeling welcome and at ease is such an important part of travelling, we are so glad that you felt both during your stay with us. We hope you will be back to enjoy the best of what the Garden Route has to offer again. Best wishes from the Bailey family and the rest of the Robberg team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    39
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
44
105
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed two nights in Room R10. It was huge with big bathroom with separate shower, bath, 2 w,h. Basins and toilet. All spotless. There are 2 balconies one overlooking the ocean. Everything was pleasing and tge staff pleasant. Good choice at breakfast. They do not really serve dinner as there are many good restaurants in the area but do provide a one course meal which has to be boojed in advance. A very pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

The Robberg Hotel is situated just back from the beach with fantastic views over the bay. The restaurant was very bright and clean with a vast array of options for breakfast. The owner gave us excellent advice on the area including restaurants. A must is to visit the roof patio and see the view across the bay. Fully recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natitingou, Benin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Loved staying here, right on the sandy beach at Plettenberg Bay. A little hard to find but the warm welcome and beautiful room overlooking the ocean made up for it. Everyone very friendly. They should do more to promote the Lion Roars chain as we stayed at Derwent House in Cape Town and had no idea they were linked. A little cross-marketing would help.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Stayed 2 nights and though we couldn't get room with sea view it mattered little. Staff very helpful and welcoming and like nearly all South Africans smile a lot. Plettenburg is great place with magnificent beach and good restaurants. Can't do better than stay at Robberg.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

A friend and I stayed at this lovely hotel for 3 nights in January 2014. It has a very calming, sophisticated, neutral beach decor which I loved. Location is prime with views and access to a gorgeous, wide beach and just 5 min from town, so a car is essential. We had a ground floor room in the main house that had a great outdoor patio with views of the sea. Staff was attentive and greet you with a cold drink when you arrive. Nice touch. I would like to particularly thank Victor who was busy but dropped what he was doing to help me with a time sensitive business transaction back in the States. Thank you Victor! Plettenburg Bay is gorgeous and we enjoyed the most beautiful hike at the Robberg Nature Preserve and side trip to Knysna. Be sure to eat at Fat Fish in Plett, wow...sooo good. We did not want to leave the Robberg Beach Lodge! Thank you for a most enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: Splurge for a sea view. It's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, Worcestershire
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

This was our first time to South Africa and The Robberg Beach Lodge was our first stopping point. And it didn't disappoint. The sunshine probably helped, but our room was enormous with a balcony that had a bit of a sea view from one end. The bed was super comfortable (which is so important from my point of view) and there was also a little seating area with a sofa and tv (although we never turned it on). There was also a fridge and sink - sort of a mini kitchen area all within what looked like a wardrobe - very useful when a cold beer was just what you needed.

We stayed for 4 nights over New Year and it was a wonderful start to the holiday. I found everyone friendly and they went out of their way to book restaurants for us and sort out taxis to get us to and from them.

We only spent a couple of hours sitting around the pool - we were lucky enough to get there before anyone else and grabbed a couple of sun loungers. That is possibly one of the only negatives to the property - not enough sun loungers for all the guest - by the time we wandered off to our room there were people lying all over the grass as there weren't sufficient to go around.

The first night we arrived, we were too tired to even attempt to go out for dinner so we ate in - we had bobotie washed down with a very acceptable bottle of red. It was lovely - we didn't really know what to expect but it tasted great.

We would definitely go back. It's a lovely place with fabulous views from the front deck and seconds from an amazing beach - whats not to like?

Room Tip: Although our room didn't have a sea view it was great - actually I think it was classed as a sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We love to hear when guests enjoy their holiday with us. We are so glad you enjoyed the huge, comfy beds- you are so right, beds are important when you're on a relaxing holiday. It sounds like you really did get to relax too, what bliss to keep the TV turned off and enjoy the beauty of Plettenberg Bay. We are glad that you enjoyed the Bobotie which is a unique and tasty South African dish. We are planning to get more loungers very soon for everyone to enjoy, thank you for sharing your comments with us. We hope you will be visiting us again soon. best wishes from the Bailey family and the Robberg team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Robberg Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Robberg Beach Lodge

Address: 89 Beachy Head Drive, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Robberg Beach Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set right at the middle of Robberg Beach in Plettenberg Bay, The Robberg Beach Lodge offers twenty-nine rooms in four adjacent villas in a remarkable location. With our wandering garden pathways, two pools, two guest lounges, two honesty bars, and spectacular rooftop terrace, we offer a luxurious and tranquil accommodation experience right on the beach. We welcome children of all ages (book a Suite to enjoy reduced rates for children sharing)and we just love making romantic memories for couples. And don't worry if you've just broken up with your boyfriend: solo travellers get a single-occupancy discount. With its 29 rooms, the Robberg can also cater for larger groups. Our family has been gathering here for nearly twenty years, and we're proud to be able to share our special place with you. Set at the heart of the world-famous Garden Route, Plett is a must for all travellers in South Africa. Its ever-changing sky and seascapes, the unspoilt beauty of its lagoons and beaches, its great restaurants & coffee shops and fabulous nature reserves and sanctuaries will soon have you booking your return trip. Look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Robberg Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Robberg Beach Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.