We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lawnwood Snake Park

Lawnwood Snake Park
on the N2 in The Crags, Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
044-534 8056
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Westlock Alberta
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“great trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

i am not a great snake lover but went with afriend and learned a good deal about snakes

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    23
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“You get to like them”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

A very knowledgeable guide made our tour very enjoyable. We learned a lot and getting close to snakes and monitors was great. Our guide also dealt very gently with those in the group who were initially wary. Worthwhile!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good collection of African and International Snakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Great collection of well-kept, healthy snakes. There is even the opportunity to hold a few (non-venomous) snakes.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Alfred, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An amazing experience. Well worth a visit...even for non-snake lovers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

We arrived rather apprehensive (about snakes) but by the end of the hour tour were so glad that we had stopped. The welcome and tour was amazing. We learnt so much and every question we asked was answered. Our guide was called Willmore and he was was knowledgable, passionate and funny. He made us so comfortable with the snakes that by the end we were even holding a big one! The facilities and species were excellent and I really recomend the stop - it is well worth it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Your chance to hold a python”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

The highlight was the opportunity to handle the python which was a great experience...the rest was interesting. Running this business is obviously a vocation for the owners, which was good to see.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lawnwood Snake Park also viewed

Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 
The Crags, Plettenberg Bay
 

Been to Lawnwood Snake Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lawnwood Snake Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.