We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little gem.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Off the Hook

Off the Hook
Shop 8 Beacon Island Center, Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
044 533 0796
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great little gem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Fast, friendly service. Simple, but very tasty fish and calamari meals. I would definitely recommend this to anyone in the area.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    24
    10
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Don't go if you're in a crowd”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We were a large table, and the restaurant could not cope with such a high volume. First my food came cold, then I sent it back and I got a new serving back. It was tasty but unfortunate we all ate at different times.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richards Bay, South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good seafood place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Book in advance, this place is busy. Specialist food is seafood. Deserts also good. Centrally located.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“laid back great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

fantastic fresh fish, best calamari I have ever eaten - really great service and relaxed environment

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Worst service ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Management/ owner's attitude is very bad. He was rude and argumentative with customers, due to his lack of control and management.......can't handle stress!!! The food however was nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Off the Hook also viewed

Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to Off the Hook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Off the Hook, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.