We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B & B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ABERNi on Sea

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plettenberg Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
ABERNi on Sea
Save
You added ABERNi on Sea to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   5 Beachy Head Drive, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
“Lovely B & B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We arrived in Plett for a couple of days and found this gem of a B&B which was very close to the beach and handy for restaurants by car. We stayed in the penthouse apartment which is well worth the extra money purely for the scenic views, we also had a separate kitchen to our bedroom which was especially useful. If visiting Plett definitely give this place a try.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
13
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Our four-day stay at Aberni On Sea during October 2012, was simply incredible. The guest house is surrounded by tranquility, situated a stone's throw from the beach and very close to the picturesque surroundings of Plettenberg Bay. Anita and Bernard are the perfect hosts and their devotion to service excellence is clear. The spacious rooms are scrupulously clean, tastefully decorated and provide for more-than-adequate self-cartering facilities. The balcony allows for some private relaxation and the perfect setting after the day's activities. Mornings start with a superb breakfast served with a variety of choices. This upmarket guest house is highly recommended and distinguishes itself from other guest houses that we have stayed at both locally and abroad. Thanks for making our stay such a memorable one!!!

Room Tip: I think any room choice will guarantee stisfaction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Me and my companion stayed for 8 days this December (2011) at Aberni on Sea (which we found on this site). It was by far one of the best guesthouses that we have stayed at over the years. It's like an upmarket apartment/ hotel feel. Everything lived up to the recommendation. Bernard and Anita are friendly and professional all in one. Close enough to the beach to walk back should you forget anything and a quick drive should you need the shops. Loved it and would do it again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

We stayed at Aberni on Sea in November 2011.
It is a fantastic guest house in a great location! The beach is approximately 100 metres from the guesthouse.
The accommodation is beautiful. An added benefit to the accommodation is the kitchenette in each room.
Bernard and Anita made us feel very welcome!
I would highly recommend Aberni on Sea to anyone staying in Plettenberg Bay!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

We stayed at aberni on Sea in Oct 2011, during our vacation to SAfrica. It was the best place we stayed out of the 5 places we visited in S.Africa. It was very nice of Bernard to offer us a discounted rate. The Mini apartment with a big balcony was very good. The bed was comfortable, they had all the necessary items one needed for cooking in the American style Kitchen/Dinning. The beach was walking distance away.. the walk to the beach is also nice and the area is quite area. All the main restaurants were close by including a shopping market. Both Bernard and Anita made us feel at home and are such warm hearted people, would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Bernard and Anita are the friendly, helpful host and hostess of this great establishment.
We happened upon Aberni whilst searching for accommodation last Sunday evening.
As it is not the season we found that many of the places we tried were closed and were prepared to take any accommodation in order to have a bed for the night.
Instead we found Aberni, a well-equipped, comfortable self-catering establishment situated close to the beach.
Bernard was well informed about the restaurants and what to do and where to go and was also very helpful with internet issues we had. Anita maintains the facilities in spotless condition and we were very happy to have stayed there and definitely recommend other travellers to try them.
Their rates were very competitive.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

We visited Plettenberg Bay at the beginning of June 2011 and stayed at Aberni on Sea for 4 days. The accommodation and service offered even more than we expected!

We were heartily welcomed by the hosts, Bernard and Anita. A full English breakfast (with choices and extras) was promptly served every morning, with personal attention by our hosts. Our suite was spacious, sunny and contained everything necessary for a few days away from home. The king size bed and luxurious linen made for a very good night's sleep, and the en suite bathroom was spotless.

Aberni on Sea is exactly what the name implies - the pristine white beach and turquoise sea is basically on the doorstep; just across the street and down a few stairs. Bernard and Anita pointed out a few of the most beautiful and interesting places to visit in the area and assisted us in visiting some of them. We could see that they are very passionate about their town and hospitality.

We loved spending the few days at Aberni and our only regret is that it could not have been longer, but we will definitely be back in future!

Willem & Mariska Nel

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ABERNi on Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABERNi on Sea

Address: 5 Beachy Head Drive, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — ABERNi on Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set among fragrant coastal fynbos, only 50 metres from the stunning Robberg beach, lies ABERNi on Sea. Luxuriously appointed in the upmarket Beachy Head Drive, ABERNi offers stylish self-catering and bed and breakfast accommodation to the discerning traveller. Whether you require a generous, fully equipped self-catering apartment or just an intimate en suite room with breakfast, ABERNi has a space that will perfectly suit your needs. Comfortably yet stylishly furnished facilities and friendly, personal service will ensure a relaxed stay in which your wishes are met without feeling that your privacy has been invaded. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ABERNi on Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.