We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost on the sea. Awesome views.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crawfords on Beacon Isle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plettenberg Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crawfords on Beacon Isle
Save
You added Crawfords on Beacon Isle to your Saves list
21 Beacon Island Crescent, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 79 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Almost on the sea. Awesome views.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Love this hotel as the staff are warm and friendly. It feels like coming home. The rooms and interior have just be refurbished so everything is nice and new. Love the heated pool also steam room. There is also fully equipped gym. Kiddies room with activities supervised by hotel staff. And kids play area with games.

Also on the hotel there is a spa. Hotel has 3 restaurants and is situated close to many eating places. It's on the beach and beautiful view from the rooms. I've often spotted dolphins from my room window. Ideal place to relax , unwind and rejuvenate mind , body and soul

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    2
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
6
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

Originally planned to stay for a few nights but extended as it was ideal for our needs.

First room was good, adequate size and large bathroom. Free wireless internet with good connection.

For our extended stay we were moved to a different room which was larger with a kitchenette. Slightly squeaky celling fan and much weaker wireless signal but this wasn't an issue at all.

Breakfast each morning was nice and service from all the staff was fantastic, nothing seemed to be a problem for them. Thanks for all the help Crawfords you were great.

Room Tip: splash pool not swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

This is a true value for money B&B which is under New Management and I found it to be in good condition with warm friendly staff on hand to listern and give advice.
Keep up the good work Lesley, I will recommed it to people I know coming to Plett in the future.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

We travelled along the Garden Route, staying in many guest houses and hotels and this was my least favourite. We booked a luxury room but I couldn't work out what granted it this status other than it having a bath as well as a shower.

The rooms lack modern air-con - only ceiling fans, and we had water dripping through the ceiling due to heavy rain. The manageress was very good about moving us into an alternative room quickly, but still not an ideal situation.

It also lacks a welcoming guest house feel as the communal area is more like a youth hostel, which is a shame.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

We had a one night (fortunately only one night) stay here and were very disappointed on arrival after the pics on the website. The pool was literally a padding pool and dirty. The room was very dark if you had the curtain shut across the patio door, and you needed the curtain shut otherwise there was no privacy into the bedroom. There's not much in the vicinity, you have to drive if you want to go into town. I wouldn't recommend it, it was the only place we were disappointed in during a fabulous 3 week stay in south africa and hence the review, to warn others.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

It's a quite and peaceful place with very clean, comfortable and spacious rooms. The pool area is nice and our room had a balcony, which was nice. It's in close proximity to area attractions and the breakfast was delicious. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Would definitely return if I find myself in Plettenburg again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

After reading the blurb on the website and on Expedia, we booked a 'deluxe suite' and were looking forward to our stay here and having a drink on our balcony on arrival after a safari and a long drive. Unfortunately, this was not to be the case as we were given a standard room and the owners of this place - who we never met as they clearly weren't interested in their guests - couldn't care less. It was a case of 'find somewhere else if you don't like it'. Well at 7.30pm in the evening we couldn't be bothered so stayed. The room had a large patio door in front of the bed - in view of all the other guests walking past. When the curtains were shut the lights were so dim you could hardly see a thing. The 'paddling pool' was so dirty I wouldn't have put my foot in it. I'm just so relieved we only stayed one night and stayed the rest of the time in Knysna. We've travelled extensively and backpacked around the world and don't expect luxury but I do expect honesty. This was the only place we stayed where we didn't find extremely friendly, genuine guest house owners. Please don't line their greedy fat pockets with your custom.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crawfords on Beacon Isle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crawfords on Beacon Isle

Address: 21 Beacon Island Crescent, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled behind the dune of Robberg Beach, Crawfords Guest House is a short walk from both of Plettenberg Bay’s main beaches. The five bedrooms are elegantly designed and decorated with spacious en-suite bathrooms giving you the freedom to stretch out and pamper yourself leaving you feeling rejuvenated and relaxed. Each luxury room has its own deck area and separate entrance. One does not have to venture far to relax as we have our own swimming pool with sun-tanning loungers positioned around it. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crawfords on Beacon Isle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.