We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME SETTING” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lemon Grass

The Lemon Grass
Salmack Road, Lookout Beach | Milkwood Manor, Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
044 5335520
Improve this listing
Price range: $6 - $23
Cuisines: Seafood, Thai, Contemporary, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Lemon Grass Seaside Restaurant is beautifully situated at the water’s edge in Plettenberg Bay, with uninterrupted views of lagoon, mountain and ocean. The restaurant’s open, warm atmosphere is coupled with an exceptional location making it one of Plettenberg Bay’s top restaurants. Visual feasting aside, the award-winning dishes at Lemon Grass are equally delicious. From the freshest dish and seafood to mouth-watering meats and game, all drawing influence from international and traditional local cuisine. Each dish is carefully prepared from the freshest ingredients by our chefs to ensure that you are smiling from the first bite to the last!
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“AWESOME SETTING”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

This is a really lovely place to eat. The scenery is awesome (best to go for dinner) and the food is excellent although I would stick to the more Asian flavours. My wife found the fish very bland but the curries were excellent. A lovely night out.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    93
    39
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Great setting on the beach, good service, good food = great lunch experience for the 5 of us. Salmon bagels, fried calamari and kingklip all highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A delicious experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

The food and service at this restaurant were of the highest order, and where the bill left a pleasant taste too! Add the spectacular beach side location and you're guaranteed an occasion to remember. Highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dordrecht South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“I will return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

This restaurant has a patio with a wonderful view. We sat out and enjoyed cocktails and then had a very knowledgeable waitron help us choose an excellent meal and wine. The service was good but unobtrusive and the restaurant full, which is a testimony in itself.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“1st time great - 2nd time extremely poor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We visited restaurant on our 1st evening. We had only booked on that afternoon and the food service and atmosphere were great, which was why we booked a 2nd time really wish I hadn't bothered.
Booked much more in advance to be given the worst table in the place, I wanted to leave but husband said that the food etc would make it worth staying. Service very poor. Wine poured in with my water and water poured into wine, service difficult to get any attention. Veg not cooked raw, I know the difference between raw and crispy. Had to ask about pudding selection, no suggestion of specials. A rubbish evening. Would not return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lemon Grass also viewed

Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 
Harkerville, Plettenberg Bay
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to The Lemon Grass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lemon Grass, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.