We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish boutique B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Christiana Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Christiana Lodge to your Saves list
Christiana Lodge
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   10 Aquarius Close | Solar Beach, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stylish boutique B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011 via mobile

This place has been designed tastefully and with attention to detail. It offers wonderful views and is in an excellent location just minutes from one of the nicest beaches we saw in South Africa. The rooms are light and airy and the beds extremely comfortable. The breakfasts with homemade bread and muesli are the perfect start to any day. We didn't get to try out the pool but it looked very inviting. We just wished we could have stayed longer, one night was not enough! Christa was extremely charming and helpful, and even arranged us accommodation in Jo'Burg. A great find and we'd recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    27
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
116
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

Five minute walk to Solar Beach, about 2 miles from town. Immaculate home with the quite spectacular Christa running the show. The house and rooms were contemporary and top grade, and breakfast was delicious and made to order. A bit pricey, but well worth it.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

We chose this hotel based on reviews on TripAdvisor. All we can say is everyone under sold the hotel. From the moment we stepped into this beautiful B+B we were treated like family. The owner/host goes out of her way to ensure that everyone is attended to from making reservations to providing sunscreen! The design is exceptional with the contemporary architecture contrasted with transitional furnishings. Every element of the surroundings are thought out to the greatest of detail. The setting is exceptional. A short walk to the most beautiful beach lets you work up an appetite for a delicious breakfast provided by the host. We will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

We arrived at Christiana Lodge and were given a lovely warm welcome by Christa who throughout our stay was accomodating, helpful and friendly. The place in my opinion is lovely, the rooms were airy and spacious and spotlessly clean. Tea/Coffee etc were supplied in the room - The Breakfast was fresh and plentiful, lots of choice- all hot food was freshly made to order. The Location for us was perfect although I would say you are a slight way out if you have no transport. The Beach was a short walk away and you could hear the Sea at night. Overall I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here and wouldn't think twice about visiting again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

We spent 3 nights in Christiana Lodge and could not have wishd for a better stay. The rooms were clean with lovely views and the guest house has a very cosy and homely feel. Christa could not have been more welcoming and went out of her way to ensure that we had an enjoyable stay. The staff were most helpful and the breakfasts outside were a real highlight. Would reccomend this place to anyone, and also Emily Moon for dinner (but be sure to book in advance).

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

Just spent 4 days at Christiana Lodge in Plettenberg Bay. What a wonderful expererience...the warm welcome...the gorgeous ambiance....stylish accommodation...the superb breakfasts in the amazing lounge and outdoor areas and those walks along Robberg Beach only a few minutes away. Thank you Christa for your great hospitality and advice on where to eat and what to do...Christiana Lodge will always be a very special place for us!!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

I spent 3 nights at Christiana lodge and would certainly return. The rooms are spacious and very modern, as is teh rest of the guesthouse. Christa and her staff are fantastic and go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. There is a great pool and the beach is a 5 min walk away. I would def return

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Christiana Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christiana Lodge

Address: 10 Aquarius Close | Solar Beach, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Christiana Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Christiana Lodge is an architect designed luxury lodge in Plettenberg Bay. The spacious, fully equipped kingsize bedrooms are luxurious yet uncluttered. En-suite bathrooms are equipped with underfloor heating, a bath and shower.Christiana Lodge is 4,5 km from town and a 5 minute walk to the beach.Golf, hiking, canoeing, whale watching, bungi jumping, mountain biking - the owners’ intimate knowledge of the area will ensure that guests have a true Plettenberg Bay experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Christiana Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Christiana Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.