We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plettenberg Bay Game Reserve

Plettenberg Bay Game Reserve
Take R340 towards Avontuur | Uplands, Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
044 535 0000
Improve this listing
Visit Plettenberg Bay Game Reserve like an insider
Top Rated
$332*
and up
3-Day Garden Route Tour from Cape Town with Big...
Attraction details
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Saw so many animals could not believe it! There were baby giraffes that were incredible! The guide was very informative and friendly. Really nice cafe where you can sit outside with the free range chickens. Very reasonable prices

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    42
    14
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Poor customer care”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My boyfriend and I made a booking to stay at the Game Reserve for Easter Weekend 2013 in December 2012. Being Easter weekend we were aware that places would get booked up quickly and we wanted to plan in advance. We paid our deposit and looked forward to our holiday in South Africa.

5 weeks before we were due for our stay we had an email from the Reserve to say they were going to cancel our booking and refund our deposit because they had had a better offer from a German Television company. They of course offered to refund our deposit but there was no offer to suggest or find alternative accommodation. Considering it was now so close to Easter Weekend most places of a similar type would be booked. We replied to the email exclaiming our dissatisfaction with their customer care, to which we received no response. We also did not receive a refund on our deposit,

After chasing them up about the refund they claim to have "lost" our account details (would have been nice if they had contacted us to let us know), they are now having an issue refunding the money to a foreign bank account and we are still waiting for our money back.

As I mentioned we were disappointed at first, but after reading further reviews on trip advisor it seems this was likely a blessing in disguise and we have booked accommodation on the knysna lagoon which we are looking forward to.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop's Stortford, Herts, England
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
71 attraction reviews
Reviews in 152 cities Reviews in 152 cities
363 helpful votes 363 helpful votes
“An easy and enjoyable introduction to African wildlife”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We thought our visit to the reserve was very good value. We'd booked online from home before we left for South Africa, and I was impressed by the very swift, helpful and friendly replies I got to all my emails. All the staff we met once we arrived were very friendly and helpful.

We did our tour at 8.30am which we thought was a very good time to go.

It's not a huge reserve but a good size, and gives you a great taste of what to expect if you went to say, the Kruger National Park. My husband had not been on any wild animal experience before and he really enjoyed it.

The lions, cheetahs and wild dogs are all in enclosures, so you are not going to get to see 'a kill' but if this is your only chance to see these animals, it is a very rewarding way to do it.

We were out for about 2 1/2 hrs and we didn't feel rushed, we sat for a long time right by say the lions, whilst our very informative guide told us all about them. It was wonderful to see the lioness walk over to the male and nuzzle his neck.

The game vehicle wasn't overly comfortable but perfectly adequate and allowed you super views and the ability to take superb shots of the various animals.

The only sad bit was when I pointed out a gazelle with a damaged leg and the guide said matter of factly 'it will have to be taken out and fed to the lions'!!!

We really enjoyed our visit.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Compact game experience and great for the kids.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We were not keen on taking our 2 and 4 year old on a game drive, but this was well worth it. We saw all the animals that we wanted to and got up close and personal. The guide was very knowledgeable and the staff friendly. Yes the lions and other carnivores are in seperate enclosures but still worth it. Particularly for children who can see the animals close up and ask questions.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Small Game Reserve”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Very nice reserve for day trips or short trips. We saw the big 4 in half a day - no elephants. We did not sleep over

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plettenberg Bay Game Reserve also viewed

Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 
The Crags, Plettenberg Bay
The Crags, Plettenberg Bay
 

Been to Plettenberg Bay Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plettenberg Bay Game Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.