We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DEC 2012 STAY” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lyell's B&B

Lyell's  B&B
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lyell's B&B to your Saves list
Lyell's B&B
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   59 Beacon Way, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 78 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“DEC 2012 STAY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We are a family of 5 (3 boys 17, 21, 23)
We used Lyell's as our base for about 5 days over Dec. We were extremely satisfied - rooms are very clean and comfortable, Managers are super friendly and eager to help with anything you need. Breakfasts every day were fantastic. Rates were very good value and position is excellent. Only reason for 4 stars is that they do not have a pool or hot tub.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and the place itself was gorgeous. Tastefully decorated and the owners were super friendly. We came from the UK and we did struggle with the heat. There is no aircon so at night it was a little uncomfortable. But hey, maybe we're just getting soft! Another complaint is that the property next door had crazy barking dogs - night and day. Apparently it was a rental property with holiday makers, so I guess we were just unlucky. Overall, I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oudtshoorn, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

We only stayed at Lyall's for one night, but will definitely go there again. The owner was extremely friendly and we had a very warm welcome.
The place is of very high standard and everything was very clean and crispy!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

I was going to stay in Knysna but the places I wanted to stay at were already fully booked, even though it was out of season, so I decided to drive on to Plettenberg Bay and see what it had to offer. Although the town is not as interesting as Knysna, it does have a lovely scenic bay and at least one good restaurant (the Lookout - excellent!), so I drove around and came across Lyells - I pulled in here mainly because it said they also offered self catering, but once I had met the landlady she infomed me that the s/c unit was taken. She showed me a room on the 1st floor which was very prettily decorated and clean, with everything that I would need for a one night stay - including tea and coffee facilities, a choice ot towels, soaps, electric blankets, and even lovely extra touches such as fresh lavender in a vase and pillow spray. There were two bathrooms available, both excellently appointed but obviously not ensuite. However, there were no other guests staying on that floor when I was there so that was not an issue for me this time. I was told I could also use the upstairs lounge which had a kitchen and TV - as there are no TVs in the rooms either. The view across the bay from the lounge is adequate but you cannot see the sea from the guest rooms which is a shame, especially when the bay is worth seeing. However, I decided to stay here as it was not too expensive, the landlady was friendly, helpful and chatty, and the place was quiet and out of the wind that was blowing that evening. I had a good night's rest but would have liked a view and a TV as I was travelling alone.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

We stayed at Lyell's for two nights and generally have no complaints - but for how noise travels through the house.

The rooms are beautiful, exceptionally clean and well appointed.

The only problem we encountered was how noise travels in the building. Three of the four rooms are on the same floor, and two of them share bathrooms. Due to the tiling in the passageways, every noise that any guest makes - from placing keys in door locks to running water for a shower or bath, to flushing of the toilets, is heard by other guests. If none of the guests make use of these facilities while you're resting or sleeping, or operate their locks and doors considerately, then you won't be bothered.

If you are looking for a stay that is free of day to day noise, this aspect of Lyell's may bother you.

One last point is that the 180' ocean views are magnificent, but only available from the top floor where the lounge and the kitchen are. None of the rooms have views of the bay or ocean.

We would thus happily recommend Lyell's but not if you are a light sleeper.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tchap, Manager at Lyell's B&B, responded to this review, November 21, 2010
Thank you for the review and comments regarding the noise. The persons in question came to the Guest House at 09H00am in the morning and asked us if they could occupy the room earlier as they were very tired after traveling a far distance by car. This we agreed to despite telling them when making the booking that occupation was taken from 12H00 am in the morning. Fortunately the Main Suite was unoccupied the previous night as thus available.
The Standard Rooms 1 and 2 which are adjacent the Main suite and the two bathrooms which are not shared but for sole use were then in the process of being prepared for Guest occupation later that day. You will appreciate that there is much noise involved in this process.
Later that morning after sleeping in the the Main Suite for a couple of hours they requested that they be moved downstairs to a Ground level room. We said no as that would have entailed redoing the Main suite for other guests. The cleaning staff had also gone home for the day.
After 12h00 in the morning there is no further noise.
The Standard Rooms1 and 2 were occupied over the two days in question without any complaints from the other Guests regarding noise.
We have run the Guest house for ten years and in this period have had no complaints regarding noise.
We advertise that we overlook the Lagoon and Ocean with a 180 degree sea view.
It is correct the view is not from the bedrooms but from the Guest House lounge and TV Room
for use by all of our Guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lyell's B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyell's B&B

Address: 59 Beacon Way, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lyell's B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'd have to restrain yourself not to pay a follow-up visit. Chandeliers, gilt and crisp finishes are but a few elements to evoke this wonderful sense of grandeur and calm. Lyell's B&B is pristinely nestled in the heart of Formosa Bay overlooking the lagoon and ocean with a 180 degree sea view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lyell's B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lyell's B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.