We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay in Plettenberg” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Piesang Valley Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Piesang Valley Lodge to your Saves list
Piesang Valley Lodge
Piesang Valley Rd, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 73 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Carcavelos
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Relaxing stay in Plettenberg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Great choice to stay in Plettenberg. We were making the garden route and found this a great place to stay (we stayed there for three nigths). Cosy and stylish rooms with a nice valley view and nice swimming pool.
John's tips are great about what to visit, restaurants, etc...

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    9
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
36
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Great little place to stay whilst spending some time in Plettenberg, friendly staff and cute rooms. Lovely view, free internet, good breakfast, quiet and free from the noise of the city centre. Will recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We spent 2 nights with our 4 children at Piesang Valley lodge... While this B&B is a little bit far from the Center, the location is beautiful, in the middle of nature... John welcomed us nicely and made sure we had a great stay, ensuring great service and giving us a lot of advice for the organization of our days around Plettenberg Bay... The arrival at the lodge is a little bit scary, particularly with kids, as you are welcomed by 3 rottweilers, but John reassured us immediately that they are the friendlest dogs, and our kids finally enjoyed their company a lot, and we must say John was entirely right...
The swimming pool is particularly nice and a great place to relax after a day of activities...
Everything was positive... One improvement point though... The rooms and the sheets are not very clean...
Net net, we really enjoyed our stay at Piesang...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at Piesang for a couple of nights and it really is worth staying here just to meet John. He gave us excellent advice on what to do during our stay and Plet was definitely a highlight of our trip to South Africa. The accommodation is quirky and offers amazing views of the landscaped garden, sea and mountains. Leonard will cook you an awesome breakfast that completely sets you up for the day. The lodge is very relaxed and provides a nice break from the hectic town centre in peak season. If you are after a B&B that is a little bit more original then you should definitely stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

As positive we noted that the sloping property allows for stunning views of the Plettenberg Bay, as the backdrop of the pool area. The price for a Bed & Breakfast is good, and there is free wireless internet (albeit outside of the cabin only!)

Negative points, however, were:
- wrong cabin concept where timber floor boards are shared with neighbouring cabins (i.e. their walking noise carries across!) and where bathroom and sleeping area are not isolated (i.e. bathroom sounds carry - which no couple appreciates!)
- lack of cleanliness in bathroom and under the bed
- continental breakfast buffet but very small serving size of cooked breakfast
- no designated reception area and confusion upon arrival (we were greeted by a lady in track pants)
- communal feel in kitchen and lounge area, dogs kept begging for food during breakfast

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Great views and garden, with pleasant rooms. The guest receives warm hospitality and tailored advice about the local attractions. The area of Plettenberg bay is an excellent base to explore the garden route. Highly recommended- I would go back again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We came about this Bed& Breakfast by accident and it wa just great. John the owner is very!! nice and the view from there was terrific. Nice pool deck, very good breakfast and the beach in Plettenberg is awesome! The rooms are good, but don´t expect top luxery. The prices are very good and more then worth it.

Dirk and family / Germany

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Piesang Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piesang Valley Lodge

Address: Piesang Valley Rd, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Piesang Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piesang Valley Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.