We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must do when visiting Plett” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Robberg Nature Reserve

Robberg Nature Reserve
8 kms south of Plettenberg Bay, Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“A must do when visiting Plett”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

The visit to Robberg Nature Reserve will take you about 3 hours, but 4 to 5 hours, if you are unfit like me :-)

The views are amazing so take your time and your camera. Wear comfortable shoes, and take some water with - there is no cafe along the route so come prepared!

You will most definitely see seals during your hike, and if you are fortunate you will see dolphins and perhaps some whales (it depends on the time of the year).

Pack your costume - you will want to have a dip in the ocean when you complete your hike and Plett is after all well-known for its stunning beaches.

As a local, I always recommend this hike.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    533
    85
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Our highlight on our South Africa tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

The 4 hour hike along the coast was my personal highlight of our trip through South Africa! Amazing views, incredible waves, simply a very impressive experience. Some portions of the hike are a bit tricky and require some climbing ... good condition required!!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Well worth doing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

I hope that I will not offend South Africans if I say that this activity was even better than the Table Mountain visit.
Chinese visitors may also wish to think twice about this activity as there was no cable car option and no gift shop at the end!
Other, less tongue in cheek advice would be to have 'reasonable' footwear. Most tourists will not have brought hiking boots but certainly slip-ons / flip flops are a no no.
You need to bring your own water as there is no shop.
There are three levels of walk, all very good. We did the 5K trip and allowing for photo stops, it took about 2 1/2 hours.
All well marked, so virtually impossible to get lost.
Finally, bring a good camera, the scenery / views are amazing. We saw plenty of seals.
Enjoy this trip.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“It must be on top of your list if you are visiting the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

A national park where you can see wonderful beaches , large groups of seals and dolphins together if lucky the occasional shark.There are 3 routes and you require sturdy shoes and legs .The walks last according to the route taken between 2 and 4 hours..Also make sure that sun-block is used and a wide brimmed hat is worn-there is very little shade.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Must do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

It's a good walk, make sure you are up to it , you need too be a bit fit, you obviously can stop at anytime you want! If you are wheelchair bound views off the car park are fantastic

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Robberg Nature Reserve also viewed

 

Been to Robberg Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Robberg Nature Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.